Williams Travels

Overall rating: 

We offer our clients the service of the best nature and mountain guides in East Africa and the full breadth of travel products and expertise.

Williams Travels is run and owned by Will Wamaru; Mountaineer, Adventurer, Naturalist and Angler. Will has been working in the outdoor industry for the last 10 year and is currently a Field Instructor for the National Outdoor Leadership School, Leading expeditions in the US wilderness.

vstreland_22280's picture
vstreland_22280 08/24/2016

“Awesome Hike to Mt. Kenya”

12 months ago

We were a team of four women from various countries aiming to reach the Summit of Mt. Kenya. We are not experienced hikers yet we made it and that was due to the great service and support of the Williams Travel team. It was an...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/13/2016
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mt. Kenya

We were a team of four women from various countries aiming to reach the Summit of Mt. Kenya. We are not experienced hikers yet we made it and that was due to the great service and support of the Williams Travel team. It was an experience of a lifetime and we had a lot of fun with the team as well. Highly recommend the team for your next trek - kind, supportive, experienced, and fun team to be with for five days on Mt. Kenya. Thank you!

joaovictornb's picture
joaovictornb 04/23/2013

“Awesome time”

4 years ago

I had the pleasure to went on a safari in Hells Gate national park with Will, he is a great guy, very helpful and it was more like traveling with a friend than with a guide! I totally recommend his service, you will not regret!!...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/13/2013
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Hells Gate

I had the pleasure to went on a safari in Hells Gate national park with Will, he is a great guy, very helpful and it was more like traveling with a friend than with a guide! I totally recommend his service, you will not regret!!

franksiw's picture
franksiw 04/02/2013

“Mt Kenya”

4 years ago

I was only 19 years and with my brother and three english guys from the backpackers, we drove from Nairobi to Mount Kenya, to climb the third highest top, almost 5 kilometers high. I remember not feeling very well that day and i was...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/02/2007
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mt Kenya

I was only 19 years and with my brother and three english guys from the backpackers, we drove from Nairobi to Mount Kenya, to climb the third highest top, almost 5 kilometers high. I remember not feeling very well that day and i was hoping so badly that i would feel better when we reached the mountain. We had lunch in a small town near the mountain. They told me in the car that our guide, William, was a very experienced guide and would notice right away if someone was not well while climbing, so i pretended to feel very ok. I didn't want to miss this great adventure!
Luckily, our car to take us up to the park delayed and when it came it had trouble driving on the slippery roads, because it just stared raining. When we arrived at the gate i was still not feeling well and by now really getting worried. Taking only one step was just painful. Some paperwork with one of our porters made us delay even longer and when we finally started climbing to the first point on the mountain (almost getting dark) as if by a miracle, i suddenly felt very fine and we quickly moved up the mountain. After taking care that no elephants would run in to us or our porters behind us, in the dark we arrived in the first sleeping place.
Waking up the next morning, the view was very clear, we could see the top were we were heading. A long and though day ahead of us. Luckily my energy was good again and I believe we were all excited to start the more serious climbing. The view was just beautiful, i think the most beautiful i ever saw in my life (but not for long). After some good hours, we arrived at a point were it started snowing and William told us he never saw it snowing this low. What else would the mountain give us? We hide under a rock with other groups and we had lunch there. As themorning snow became less, and our lunch was finished, we continued climbing. The last parts of the first day were exhausting, we could really feel the altitude now. Just taking a few steps and then we had to rest again. But we stayed together and we made it. A nice dinner and a good sleep in our second camp. We would stay there for another day to get used to the altitude before taking on the challenge of the top.
THe next morning the groups who returned from the top were very annoyed: it was very cloudy and they saw close to nothing. Hopefully we would be more lucky! Today we just relaed though. We did a small trip exploring the area around the camp. We saw some astonishing (i dont know if the english is correct, i mean beautiful, but very vry beautiful) lakes and as the sun came we even sun-bathed for a few minutes.
Tonight was the night. At around 3.30 we moved up the mountain. You coul see the little lights of all the groups moving up, it was a magical sight. We passed by another group where the guide was shouting at a woman that she should walk faster. Luckily we had William. He made our slowest English guy walk in front so that he was the one to decide on the speed. He encouraged us but not in the bossy way of the other guide we passed. by the way, we had good conversations, and the way William looks at nature, it's nice to have someone who does what he does out of passion. Ok, but we were climbing to the top, through the snow. We could also see some stars. Perhaps we would be more lucky than the groups of last night. They make you climb the mountain at night because during the day the sun melts the snow and the roads become too slippery. An extra advantage is that that you arrive at the top when the sun rises and this time for us, it was exactly the moment when we reached the top that the sun came and yes, we had a clear view! Ok, so now this was the most beautiful sight I've ever seen, looking over the mountains at sunrise.... After some 10 or 15 minutes we had to go back. Going down is much faster than up. That day we went all the way back to the first camp where we slept (the 3 British decided to even go all the way back that day to the car and Nairobi). On the way we could just notice how oxigen came back, we could breathe normally again! It also started raining and we were soaking wet (a piece of advice, take very good shoes, not like the ones me an my brother had). At one point I just splashed with my face down into the mud. But again, we made it and it was sooo good to put on my dry clothes. During the afternoon and still at night groups were coming in from the mountain. The weather conditions were though and not everybody was as strong as us (ok William, you might also have to do something with it).
The next morning, i couldn;t believe it, the lady with the guide that had been shouting at her to go faster to the top, arrived. They had been out for the whole night! So if you ever decide to climb mount Kenya, don't take a risk and take a reliable guide like William! He's good fun too! And he cares about people and the environment. Too good to be true? Give it a try and find out for yourself! Thanks Will for what is still (5 and a half years later) one of the most amazing experiences in my life.
Frank

f.chazarenc's picture
f.chazarenc 03/26/2013

“Ostafrika mal anders!”

4 years ago

Der Trip mit William zu den Ngong Hills gehört zu den besten Erfahrungen, die ich während meinem Ostafrika-Aufenthalt gemacht habe. Gründlich geplant und professionell durchgeführt, wurde dieser Ausflug zu einem authentischen...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/20/2010
Length of safari: 
3 Days

Der Trip mit William zu den Ngong Hills gehört zu den besten Erfahrungen, die ich während meinem Ostafrika-Aufenthalt gemacht habe. Gründlich geplant und professionell durchgeführt, wurde dieser Ausflug zu einem authentischen Erlebnis. Williams hat mir mit seinem Wissen über Mensch, Natur und Umwelt diese schöne Ecke der Welt näher gebracht. Für jeden, der mit ökologischem Bewusstsein reisen will, ist Williams Travel genau die richtige Adresse. Absolut empfehlenswert!

n.i.k.k.i.b.u.r.n.s's picture
n.i.k.k.i.b.u.r.n.s 03/22/2013

“Mt. Kenya Hike”

4 years ago

Climbing Mount Kenya was my favorite part of my four month stay in Kenya. Will was extremely friendly and very affordable! The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. In the evenings he would play cards with us at the camps and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/29/2011
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mt. Kenya

Climbing Mount Kenya was my favorite part of my four month stay in Kenya. Will was extremely friendly and very affordable! The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. In the evenings he would play cards with us at the camps and tell us great stories that he had acumulated through his experience. The food on the mountain was excellent and we were never hungry! Will is very professional and personable. He kept in touch long after the hike and was one of my favorite people I met in Kenya. It was clear that he has a true passion for adventure and the outdoors and this comes across and makes the experience priceless. Highly highly recommended!

ben.hewitt3's picture
ben.hewitt3 03/20/2013

“One of the Best Experiences I've Ever Had IN MY LIFE”

4 years ago

I've been all over the world. Seen a lot of things. Had a lot of Adventures. William's Travels is one of the best things I've done at any time... anywhere.

William personally met us in Nairobi and made the trip out to Mt....

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/20/2013
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mt. Kenya

I've been all over the world. Seen a lot of things. Had a lot of Adventures. William's Travels is one of the best things I've done at any time... anywhere.

William personally met us in Nairobi and made the trip out to Mt. Kenya with my friend and I. Once we reached our destination, he set us up with our crew. He had recently been injured and wasn't able to make the trip with us. His staff was one of the friendliest, hardest working and dependable groups of people that I met while in Kenya. They pushed us but were able to determine our limits. They had the whole trip pre-set up and it went without a hitch.

Highlights included: Climbing to the summit at 3 AM, reaching the top as the sun came up.

I would recommend this adventure to ANYONE. You will not find a better group. I still keep in touch with Will and the leader of my tour, Isaac. So fun, so safe... amazing. DO IT!

jackolusmctavish's picture
jackolusmctavish 03/19/2013

“Mt. Kenya”

4 years ago

I decided to climb Mt. Kenya with a friend and had heard of Williams Travels from a friend - who raved about her experience - so decided to contact Will about prices and how it was going to go down.
He replied quickly and (...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/19/2013
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mount Kenya National Park

I decided to climb Mt. Kenya with a friend and had heard of Williams Travels from a friend - who raved about her experience - so decided to contact Will about prices and how it was going to go down.
He replied quickly and (seeing as we weren't on a high budget) decided on a price that was good for us all. All matters were sorted quickly and we were soon off to Mt. Kenya.

We thoroughly enjoyed out experience. The information from the guides and the porters was fantastic and we made good friends. I still frequently talk to Will even when this trip happened years ago! The trip was eco-friendly. Being a student of Wildlife Conservation I wouldn't have chosen anyone to which I would have thought might have been pernicious to the environment on our climb.

The food provided for us was more than ample and tasted fantastic every day. Something fresh, home-cooked and different every day. If we needed a break on our ascent, we were given it. If we wanted to stop and ask about the flora or fauna they were more than happy to stop and actively enjoyed what they were educating us on.

All in all, a fantastic trip that we will never forget. It was really something special. Thanks, Wills Travels.

elke253's picture
elke253 03/14/2013

“Mount Kenya”

4 years ago

Die Zeit mit Will war einfach überragend und ist nur jedem zu empfehlen. Die beste Unterhaltung mit Wissen, Humor und viel Freundlichkeit. Danke Will für eine Unvergessliche Zeit in Kenya.

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/23/2012
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Circumstances: 
Transport: 

Die Zeit mit Will war einfach überragend und ist nur jedem zu empfehlen. Die beste Unterhaltung mit Wissen, Humor und viel Freundlichkeit. Danke Will für eine Unvergessliche Zeit in Kenya.

Andrew.allsebrook's picture
Andrew.allsebrook 03/14/2013

“Mountain climbing”

4 years ago

Outstanding 4 day trek up mount Kenya. Will is a great guide. Encouraging on the hard bits and relaxed on the easy bits. It says a lot that we have remained friends since the trip. Brilliant at his job, great laugh all round. I...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/14/2013
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
My Kenya

Outstanding 4 day trek up mount Kenya. Will is a great guide. Encouraging on the hard bits and relaxed on the easy bits. It says a lot that we have remained friends since the trip. Brilliant at his job, great laugh all round. I would not go on safari or trekking with anyone else.

leojansen's picture
leojansen 03/13/2013

“Hell's Gate”

4 years ago

We went with a group of interns to Hell's gate under guidance of Will. The first day we went to Lake Kongoni and camped at Lake Naivasha. The second day we went to Hell's gate for a good day full of biking and hiking and some rock...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/17/2013
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Hell's Gate

We went with a group of interns to Hell's gate under guidance of Will. The first day we went to Lake Kongoni and camped at Lake Naivasha. The second day we went to Hell's gate for a good day full of biking and hiking and some rock climbing.
During the whole trip we were guided by Will. He is a good guide who knows a lot about the environment and the good routes within the park.
Furthermore, he had some good tips for the rock climbing. He is a good guide who knows how to entertain his group and show them the good stuff inside the park. He is truly an addition to your trip.

jonathanwales111's picture
jonathanwales111 03/13/2013

“Climbing Mount Kenya”

4 years ago

The mountaineering trip William took our group on was truly exceptional; I also had the pleasure of taking many smaller trips with him around Kenya as well. The trip up Mount Kenya was one of the most unforgettable experiences I've...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/13/2013
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mount Kenya

The mountaineering trip William took our group on was truly exceptional; I also had the pleasure of taking many smaller trips with him around Kenya as well. The trip up Mount Kenya was one of the most unforgettable experiences I've ever had, full of stunning beauty and delicious food every night. There is nothing more rewarding than summating such a mountain. Will also runs expeditions to the Masai Mara as well Mount Kilimanjaro.

He is a Mountain and Safari guide of exceptionally high skill and experience. Will is personable, fun and will cater to your every need before during and after the adventure you choose to take. I spent six months in East Africa and during my time there I can say with complete honesty that Will is the one person I knew I could count on for absolutely anything. Since my time in Kenya he has become an instructor at National Outdoor Leadership School in Wyoming and Kenya. 'NOLS' for those of you who don't know is the worlds most prestigious and renowned Outdoor School in the world. NOLS accepts great mountain guides and turns them into the best. That's about all I can say for any expedition you would choose to take with William, it is the best. He provides a relaxed and fun atmosphere while absolutely ensuring your safety along the way. I highly recommend you choose his business and friendship for any outdoor adventure you choose in East Africa.

emilysinger18's picture
emilysinger18 03/12/2013

“Masai Mara, Mau Mau Caves and Thompson Falls”

4 years ago

I was in Kenya for nearly a month and went on many trips arrange by Will. He arranged first for me to head to the Masai Mara (quite a last minute decision on my part) where I spent 4 days touring the park. Our guide/driver was...

Value: 
Days
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/01/2010

I was in Kenya for nearly a month and went on many trips arrange by Will. He arranged first for me to head to the Masai Mara (quite a last minute decision on my part) where I spent 4 days touring the park. Our guide/driver was really informative and accommodating, he even arranged for us to leave the camp and see a World Cup game at a near by bar.

Then Will arranged for a group of us to hike up to the Mau Mau caves near Nanyuki which was awesome. It was an easy hike up and back and we picnicked on top of the cliffs sheltering the caves.

After that Will arranged for my sister and I to take a tour of Nairobi. We saw the elephant nursery, definitely worth a visit, you go at meal time and there are parades of different aged elephants (and a few warthogs) that come in from the bush to eat. We also headed over to the giraffe sancutary where you can experience the unique experience of being kissed by a giraffe (long tongue and all) while the guides try and tell you that giraffe saliva is good for you. The Kazuri women's collective was an interesting visit, they employ mostly single-mothers to hand make beautiful jewellery and pottery.

My last trip with Will was to Thompson's Falls (which is where this photo was taken) and we camped on the grounds of the hotel there (a more affordable option). It was beautiful though it was a little cold at night because it was winter and Thompson's Falls is one of Kenya's highest cities.

bratensaft's picture
bratensaft 02/14/2013

“Mt Kenya 4 days 3 nights Sirimon route (Naromoru)”

4 years ago

I have done this safari twice so far, both time it was an amazing experience!
The hikes were very different from each other, because of the different climate.
Mt. Kenya is stunningly beautiful, not a lot of tourists come...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/19/2011
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mt. Kenya National Park

I have done this safari twice so far, both time it was an amazing experience!
The hikes were very different from each other, because of the different climate.
Mt. Kenya is stunningly beautiful, not a lot of tourists come here.

You can look at the photos here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2180922723880.127085.127129236...

It' a four day hike and we were a group of friends doing the trip together.
We reached the peak on the third day around sunrise.
In terms of accomodation, there are simple mountain huts with good beds and proper santation.
The team cooked for us, so all we had to do after a day's hike is relax our legs and watch the beautiful landscape.

The organizer got us a a guide, a cook and a small group of porters.
First I couldn't believe that somebody would carry my lugagge but once you reach 3,000 or 4,000 metres, you love it. It gives you the freedom to focus on your body and the beautiful landscape around.
At 4,995 I had even forgotten about my luggage, but just enjoyed the sunrise at the peak :-)

The team was really fun, they were all locals who had grown up around the mountains. We talked to them about their lives and I personally found it really exciting. They told us stories from the mountain and explained about birds and the vegetation whenever we asked. They asked us about our health and reminded us how to prevent mountain sickness.
Food is simple but absolutely delicious and the perfect nutrition for such a hike.

A lady in our group decided that she can't make it to the peak. The group leader accomodated that wish really last minute and gave her an extra guide to take a detour around the peak to meet us on the other side. I thought this was relly great and flexible.

All in all they really took great care of us - it was clear that the operator has a lot of experience and that they love the mountain!

Tips:
The organizer can help getting things like bagpacks, sleeping bags and rain jackets.
It will be best to bring your own good hiking boots though.
Extra batteries for the camera - on my frist trip I took over 300 pictures in 4 days :-))
Bring nutritious biscuits and a big water bottle