Kenya Expresso Tours & Safaris

Overall rating: 

Kenya Expresso Tours and Safaris is a company that specializes in Travel in Kenya. KET Safaris is a Kenyan based company with our offices in Nairobi and Mombasa. Our website allows travelers to find their dream holiday destinations in Kenya.

KET Safaris offers a vast and spectacular portfolio of Kenyan based travel experiences, with a team of staff members having over 10 years experience in the tour industry. Kets: your one-stop Safaris in Kenya Travel orientated web site, where planning and booking your Kenyan holiday accommodation and safaris packages is made much easier.

chris.moller_24509's picture
chris.moller_24509 05/31/2017

“A totally unforgettable two days and one night!”

4 months ago

We were two business colleagues who had a couple of days to spare after a conference in Nairobi, and we decided to spend them in the Maasai Mara. KET Safaris did a fantastic job for us. Our driver, Francis, was excellent.

In...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/26/2017
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Maasai Mara

We were two business colleagues who had a couple of days to spare after a conference in Nairobi, and we decided to spend them in the Maasai Mara. KET Safaris did a fantastic job for us. Our driver, Francis, was excellent.

In the course of our two days, we saw all at very close range, and to watch for as long as we wanted: thousands of gazelle, impala, wildebeest, buffalo and zebra, lots of giraffe, hippo, elephant, warthog, meerkats and baboons, a few lions in prides, hyenas, rhinos, crocs, ostriches, many pretty and exotic-looking birds, and a leopard in the tree above us, and a cheetah eating his lunch. Perhaps we were extremely lucky to see all of this in 24 hours - I don't know. Certainly our driver, Francis, was very skilled at finding the animals for us.

Ashnil Mara Camp where we stayed was an extremely comfortable oasis in the middle of the Maasai Mara. Technically, it was under canvas, but definitely ‘glamping’, - as comfortable as any hotel or resort.

greg_4411's picture
greg_4411 03/20/2017

“Ithumba &Tsavo: Elephant-Palooza”

7 months ago

Ithumba &Tsavo: Elephant-Palooza

We recently returned from a 10–day safari in Tsavo, including 4 days at Sheldrick’s Ithumba camp.

If there are 11,000 elephants in Tsavo, it felt as if we encountered nearly all of...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
01/04/2017
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tsavo East

Ithumba &Tsavo: Elephant-Palooza

We recently returned from a 10–day safari in Tsavo, including 4 days at Sheldrick’s Ithumba camp.

If there are 11,000 elephants in Tsavo, it felt as if we encountered nearly all of them. In an 8 sq km area west of Luggard Falls, we encountered 10 families in quick succession. Driving along the Galana River at sunset, our driver needed to brake repeatedly as waves of elephants crossed the road. On a continent where ellie populations are plummeting, to see such large concentrations of pachyderms was exhilarating.

We spent 5-nights at Epiya Chapeu (Bigi Camp) on the Galana River, an ideal base camp. In addition to frequent elephant sightings in the Galana region, we encountered large concentrations of wildlife near Aruba Dam, and Pipeline Rd by Voi.

We were very fortunate to have Ithumba to ourselves. We joined the elephant orphans for breakfast, mudbath at noon, and pre-bedtime routine. Lead keeper Benjamin and staff were kind and attentive. Ithumba must be the only place on the planet where one can be surrounded by huge numbers of elephants, a combination of orphans, ex-orphans, and wild pachyderms.

We stayed at Ithumba Camp. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the staff of 3 met our every need and made us feel right at home. We bought our groceries in Voi, and delivered them to the kitchen upon our arrival. We requested vegetarian meals and the cook worked his culinary magic….finest cuisine in Tsavo.

We toured the nearby Hill Camp, which is more upscale and has a pool. It offers a stunning view of the plains and Yatta Plateau.

Our safari van and driver, Daniel, were provided by Kenya Expresso Tours (KETS). The van was in excellent condition, and Daniel is a superb guide. This was our 3rd safari with KETS. Paul, the trustworthy manager, is a whiz at handling all details and communicates well. Whether you’re a safari veteran or timid first-timer, KETS will provide intimate experiences with wild Africa…the stuff of dreams.

Logistics: We flew San Francisco-Nairobi redeeming United Airlines frequent flier miles, paying $38 in taxes. Flying time SFO- Nariobi was 20 hours, with a short layover in Frankfurt. We also redeemed miles returning from the Seychelles: SEZ-ADD-CDG-SFO. Flying Ethiopia Air was a positive experience. We spent a total of 42 hours in the air, and it was literally smooth sailing the entire way.

We were glad we added the Seychelles to our trip. Kenya Air flies NBO-SEZ 4x weekly, RT ~$500.

Costs: Ithumba Camp was $900/night for 1-6 people. Bigi Camp was ksh 8,500, per person per night. KETS charged $2,490 for a 10-day safari, which included a pop-top safari van with driver/guide, fuel and Tsavo Park fees for 2 clients + driver/vehicle.

Video links

Part 1 https://youtu.be/eQqthmXSD0U

Part2 https://youtu.be/-d7dx6sM_M4

lsoder_19807's picture
lsoder_19807 06/09/2016

“Perfect 6 Nights in Kenya and Tanzania”

1 year ago

As an initial matter, Paul (who I believe is the owner and operator of KETS) is one of the most responsive people on e-mail I've met - which is saying a lot given that I'm an attorney in NYC. This was very much appreciated as my...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/29/2016
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Maasai Mara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Amboseli

As an initial matter, Paul (who I believe is the owner and operator of KETS) is one of the most responsive people on e-mail I've met - which is saying a lot given that I'm an attorney in NYC. This was very much appreciated as my wife and I planned our honeymoon and constantly changed the accommodation and route we wanted to take. KETS is very flexible in that respect as well. We spent two nights in Maasai Mara in Kenya (at Ashnil Mara Lodge), two nights in the Serengeti in Tanzania (Mbalageti Lodge), one night in Ngorongoro (the Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge) and one night in Amboseli back in Kenya (at the Ol Tukai Lodge).

In Maasai Mara, we had Daniel as our private driver/guide. He was very easy to speak with, knew the animals and where to find them, and was generally a great guide. Maasai Mara is significantly smaller than the Serengeti, but is beautiful and less regulated than the Tanzania parks - allowing us to get closer looks at the animals. That's not to say that KETS did any offroading or anything, just that there are more off-trail roads that get you closer to the animals. We saw a cheetah with a young one, a leopard with a young one, a lion pride resting after a kill, hyenas and jackals finishing the kill, another attempted kill by a lion at sunset, and huge numbers of elephants. We didn't see tons of wildebeests or zebras, but that came later. And Ashnil Mara lodge was beautiful. A perfect view over the river where you could watch hippos as you ate/drank. And the staff was beyond generous. The food left something to be desired, but not a whole lot KETS can do about that one. One note, and this will be common throughout this review - the drives are long. So be prepared. From Nairobi to Ashnil Mara took us about 6-7 hours. But the last 2-3 hours there is at least animal viewing. There are also a couple of stops where you can look at some African crafts if you're so inclined.

The drive from Ashnil Mara to the Mbalageti lodge in Serengeti was the longest drive. It was a full day. Although we stopped for lunch across the Tanzania border that was probably unnecessary (and I think KETS recognized it too, as Paul mentioned that for future tours they would not be making that stop). Without that two hour stop, we would have been in the park much earlier. Also of note, Kenyan drivers are not allowed to drive in Tanzania (well, they can, but it's a ridiculously expensive process). So we switched from Dan to Oswald (Ozzie) at the border. Ozzie was phenomenal. Very personable and again very good with the animals and working with the numerous other safari cars to do everything they can to show you the animals you want to see most. For us, that was cheetahs and Ozzie went out of his way to find them for us (four of them in fact...). The Mbalageti lodge is the most beautiful one we stayed in with views that can't be matched. And the western part of the Serengeti park is really beautiful with thousands of wildebeests and zebras. Can't say enough about that lodge and well worth the long drive from Maasai Mara. Even with the drives, we would strongly, strongly recommend seeing both Maasai Mara and the Serengeti.

After our second night at Mbalageti, we had a long drive to Ngorongoro (probably another 5 hour drive). But this one is the easiest drive as it's all in the park. And the central part of the Serengeti is a great chance to see leopards (we were lucky enough to see two). The arrival at Ngorongoro is incredibly impressive. And the crater offers your best chance to see the elusive rhino. The Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge left quite a bit to be desired, but I'm not sure what KETS can do about that. There are only a couple of lodges there and it does have an incredible view - the rooms are just very outdated and not the most comfortable. That might be an area where you look to fork up a bit more money for a four-star lodge if that's the kind of trip you're looking for.

Amboseli could probably be skipped. Ol Tukai is a gorgeous lodge, but if that's your last stop, you'll have already seen most everything that Amboseli has to offer except views of Kilimanjaro. It breaks up the drive a bit from Ngorongoro, but I think if we did it all over again, we might have skipped that stop. Ol Tukai is gorgeous though - so definitely not a bad place to just relax after a long safari. We switched drivers again at the border (from Ozzie to Duncan). We didn't have much time with Duncan since we were winding down and largely chose to relax instead of go on game drives in Amboseli. But he certainly seemed knowledgeable of the animals/area and fell in line with the other KETS drivers we had.

Long winded, I know. So to summarize, KETS was everything we had hoped for and could have expected. We would strongly, strongly recommend KETS to those of you looking for a Kenya and Tanzania safari!

explore377_14716's picture
explore377_14716 02/18/2016

“Best service you can ever ask for”

1 year ago

I highly recommend anyone that wants to plan a safari to contact the Owner/Manager Paul. Paul is very responsive and helpful with all the questions and inquiries that you may have. This was my first trip to Africa and it went so...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/13/2016
Length of safari: 
3 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Masai Mara

I highly recommend anyone that wants to plan a safari to contact the Owner/Manager Paul. Paul is very responsive and helpful with all the questions and inquiries that you may have. This was my first trip to Africa and it went so smoothly as planned. Thanks again to Paul and his top notch driver/Tour guide Joseph who is very knowledgeable about the terrain and all the animals and birds. Joseph definitely made our trip! We highly recommend Joseph given his 20+ years of experience as a tour guide and driver.

info_11044's picture
info_11044 12/16/2015

“Excellent safari experience with KETS”

1 year ago

We have just returned from our trip to Kenya, which was made unforgettable by excellent service provided by KETS. Special thanks to Paul, who has provided us with an excellent selection of accommodation and made booking process fast...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
11/30/2015
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Amboselli, Tsavo east

We have just returned from our trip to Kenya, which was made unforgettable by excellent service provided by KETS. Special thanks to Paul, who has provided us with an excellent selection of accommodation and made booking process fast and easy and to our driver/guide Daniel, who spent a week with us on the road. Daniel is a very knowledgeable guide, careful driver and very polite and hard working person. We can highly recommend him. We saw the big 5 within just two days!
We have returned full of positive emotions and once in a life time experiences.

We can highly recommend KETS to anyone who is planning to go for safari tour in Kenya for their professionalism and client's attitude. So our next trip to Kenya will be definitely with KETS!

greg_4411's picture
greg_4411 12/07/2014

“Thanks, KETS, for an Incomparable Adventure”

2 years ago

It was 5 am when we heard a gentle knock on the door. It was Lucky, our safari driver/guide with KETS (Kenya Expresso Tours and Safari), and our 11-day, epic adventure was about to begin.

It was a 5-hour drive from Nairobi...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/02/2014
Length of safari: 
11 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tsavo East, Tsavo West, Amboseli, Navaisha, Lake Nakuro, Hell's Canyon, Maasai Mara

It was 5 am when we heard a gentle knock on the door. It was Lucky, our safari driver/guide with KETS (Kenya Expresso Tours and Safari), and our 11-day, epic adventure was about to begin.

It was a 5-hour drive from Nairobi to Voi, the entrance to our first park: Tsavo East. At the entrance gate, Lucky lifted the pop-top and we assumed the standing position in the van clutching our cameras, having absolutely no idea what to expect. First impression of Tsavo: the desert-like terrain appeared too barren to support dense populations of wildlife. On the contrary, just 30-minutes later, a parade of 40-elephants trotted passed the van. Jaws dropped and eyes bugged as we entered a world of wonderment that touched us like no other life experience.

Our guide, Lucky, was an ideal fit for our style of safari-ing. A perfect gentleman and professional with an easy laugh, he handled every detail of the trip so all we had to do for 11-days was to maintain our balance in the van as the best of Africa unfolded beyond our pop-top. Our safety and comfort were top priorities for Lucky, as was his commitment to fill each game drive with rarefied experiences. His laser-sharp vision perfectly complemented his psychic-powers and instinct in choosing the right road at the right moment to locate wildlife. At Masai Mara, he stopped the van and said, “Watch this.” We had a ring-side seat to observe 4 male lions surround buffaloes, which resulted in a tense stand-off. Suddenly, the buffaloes charged and the lions scattered like terrified kitties. Later on the same drive, he located a pair of mating lions.

We couldn’t have been more pleased with the lodges at Tsavo East/West, Amboseli, Naivasha, Lake Nakuro, and Masai Mara. And the lodges’ buffet meals…vegetarians, prepare to eat the best, most varied meals of your life. Lucky used his charm and persuasion to get us the best rooms overlooking the waterholes. At Naivasha’s Sopa Lodge, who needs a waterhole when hippos are grazing in the garden right outside your room?

We decided on KETS based on internet postings. But even with all the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, there still remains the nagging possibility that high expectations may collide with disarming realities. But our expectations were met and then blown off the charts with each park we toured. Paul, the owner, knows what customers want and is eager to oblige. The money exchange was effortless. I sent a $1,000 deposit via Western Union, and paid the balance (also via Western Union) the evening before our safari began.

This may sound nuts, but 4-days after we returned home and still wobbly from travel, we tallied our British Air miles and bought 2 tickets San Francisco-Nairobi for next August. The expression “we’re hooked” applies here.

Thanks, Lucky and KETS, for countless, priceless memories.

Our Tsavo East experience: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxGOLZgIYx0

Our Tsavo West experience: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTcYTpqtu8

Our Amboseli experience: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8G-ZGVUQLE0

hackers's picture
hackers 10/03/2013

“Fantastic safari, excellent lodges”

4 years ago

We had previously been to Kenya with Kuoni but this time I wanted a more personal experience so looked at arranging things myself. Having seen the glowing reviews of KET Safaris on review sites, I decided that they were the right...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/08/2013
Length of safari: 
9 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mara, Serengeti, ngorogoro, amboselli, tsavo east

We had previously been to Kenya with Kuoni but this time I wanted a more personal experience so looked at arranging things myself. Having seen the glowing reviews of KET Safaris on review sites, I decided that they were the right company for us - my husband, sister and her partner. I did get quotes from others, but Paul was quick to respond and answer my many questions. I outlined the parks I wanted to visit and this included Serengeti, and Ngorogoro in Tanzania. Between us, we worked out an itinerary which was realistic distance wise and included all the parks we wanted. Whilst I think we are all a little nervous about sending deposits to people we don't know so far away and paying the balance in cash when we arrive, you shouldn't worry as it was fine.

When we arrived at Nairobi in the evening, a driver from the Meltonia Luxury Suites collected us and we stayed there overnight. Paul arrived at our hotel on time in the morning and introduced us to our first driver Benedict.It was a long and dusty drive to the Mara, but we had a couple of comfort breaks en route and when in the park Benedict took the longer route to the hotel to see some wildlife on the way. The Mara is one of the best places to view game and again it didn't disappoint. The Ashnil Mara was wonderful, very luxurious, great food and the staff couldn't do enough. I will review all the lodges and hotels individually but they were all good.

Day four, we crossed the border at Isebania which was chaotic with laborious form filling but didn't really take as long as we imagined. A word of warning, don't use the loos here as they were not very nice and they charged both men and women 200 shillings. After saying our sorry goodbyes to Benedict who we were really fond of, we were introduced to Jeremiah (Jerry). He was younger and initially a little quieter but soon learned to understand our sense of humour and joined in the jokes. He was an excellent driver and spotter and clearly passionate about his job. We stayed at the Mbalgetti Lodge in the Serengeti which had fantastic tented lodges overlooking the countryside and was not fenced so was very natural. I do have reservations about this lodge because it took over 30 minutes to reach the other roads every time we went on a game drive which meant an hour of our drive over the same area (see separate review).

After two nights, we then drove on to Ngorogoro which I have to say in itself was a little disappointing. Due the vast area in the crater (caldera) we mostly viewed game from a distance. However, Jerry did anticipate the destination of two black rhinos and drove round to enable us to watch them coming almost directly towards us before they headed off to the water. Rhino lodge was wonderful with open fires in restaurant and even in our rooms.

Back to Kenya and our third and last guide Bryon. He had more long distance drives as we had to go to Amboselli, the next day Tsavo and finally Watamu. Whilst he did drive faster than the others we still felt safe and he found us lots of elephants in both these parks. He dropped us off at Watamu having bought us (courtesy of Paul) a final lunch in a restaurant in Malindi. We stayed at the Ocean Sports which again I will review separately.

I would like to thank Paul publicly for a wonderfully arranged safari. Everything went like clockwork and all three drivers were exceptional. I would recommend KET Safaris for anyone wanting to take book their holiday independently.

Finally, an update on Nairobi Airport. We flew from Mombasa to Nairobi on 22 Sept, after the awful terrorist attack at Westgate Mall, for our onward flight to Heathrow. If you have unfortunately booked with British Airways be warned. The airport is totally chaotic. When we finally found out which building we should be in (having joined two queues into buildings which were not the right ones), we had our hold luggage manually searched despite it having just been scanned. The hand luggage was then rescanned and we were then ushered to the tents outside and BA had the only tent which you could not enter with any refreshment as they were scanning hand luggage yet again. This, apparently, had nothing to do with the terrorist attack. Then, as if to add insult everyone had to have the contents of their bags emptied and they made us switch all our cameras on and off before roughly trying to cram the equipment back.

There is no duty free, restaurant or bar - just a small tent offering coffee and sandwiches etc. in which you have to stand to eat or drink the meager offerings. It was pouring with rain when we were there and we huddled under the canopy. The portable toilets are all outside the tents so you have to go through the security again to go to the loo and then back again. We were there for three hours and it was not fun. No other airline tent had this ridiculous extra security.