It Started in Africa

Overall rating: 

It Started in Africa was a project dreamed by the minds and hearts of a Tanzanian and a Portuguese. The premises for this project were that everyone must be able to experience the most incredible places in the world and that, regardless of a safari being luxurious or budget, the price must be fair.

Our motto: Every safari is a different one. Be fair, be flexible, be good - every single time. Every safari is a different experience, for different people, with different needs and expectations and we go the extra mile to make sure everyone has the experience of a lifetime.

toperfumes9_22709's picture
toperfumes9_22709 09/06/2016

“Over the top”

9 months ago

Asante sana Frank! We booked a day trip with ISIA and scored Frank! He is an amazing driver/guide! We've just had many unique fun experiences in one day. Frank also introduced us to generous guides who shared their local stories....

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/06/2016
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti

Asante sana Frank! We booked a day trip with ISIA and scored Frank! He is an amazing driver/guide! We've just had many unique fun experiences in one day. Frank also introduced us to generous guides who shared their local stories. His enthusiasm & knowledge about the people and animals of Tanzania was unlimited & we really appreciated his arranging everything...

aft_21579's picture
aft_21579 07/31/2016

“Badly maintained vehicle and broken promises.”

10 months ago

Tanzania gets full stars for wildlife variation and accommodation hospitality, it stated in Africa (which we booked based on the reviews here) on the other hand gets few stars for their lack of quality control, you'll either...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/31/2016
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
serengeti, ngorongoro

Tanzania gets full stars for wildlife variation and accommodation hospitality, it stated in Africa (which we booked based on the reviews here) on the other hand gets few stars for their lack of quality control, you'll either get an old or if your unlucky a very old car and probably the worst car in the fleet as we did.

When it comes to planning a Safari trip the company and car you get plays a huge role, its where you’ll inevitably spend most of your time 8+ hours a day game viewing and chasing the animals and where the quality and reliability makes a huge difference to your trip.

This is where it all went wrong for us, imagine being picked up from the airport in a car that's seats are full of stains and the interior is in very bad shape (see attached pics), this can be somewhat overlooked after all it should be an adventure right? Now that same car then starts exuding mechanical and other issues both initial days of the trip (on multiple consecutive days the car has been taken for various repairs that should have been done long before our tour started) wasting a lot of valuable sightseeing time on a trip we spent a lot of money on and travelled a long distance to take part in.

We had to detour for repairs. Driver had to back track from the entrance of Ngorongoro crater to go have the car checked! wasted 2+ hrs parked at a garage. Absolutely no pride in one’s car or corporate quality control. We told the company about this and they gave us empty promises, the car continued to have issues through almost every day of our trip, see pics these are all from separate repair stops we had to make.

Compared to most tour Operators (and you get to see most of them parked up at the various park entries) the car we got from it started in Africa was the worst, they then ignored us with empty promises and we felt somewhat embarrassed pulling-up next to other cars in our run down vehicle or being on the side of the road as better and well equipped vehicles passed us by.

Their customer service on multiple occasions pretended to promise a resolution, but would then quickly forget about us tell the tour was over! Absolutely nothing was done and no updated car was ever provided. Lastly on top of the various stops the car had to make (whist others flew by us, see pics), the cars cb radio didn’t work (which is what tour operators use to tell each other where the best sightings are) and the so called top of the end binoculars were ill maintained very hazy junk that can be got for under $50 from ebay, so take your own.

Can't recommend this tour operator to any one I know, due to the inconsistency of their service (would rather forget we even used them for our trip and just remember the sights), spend your money elsewhere unless you like taking pics of your car on the side of the road which we sadly have lots of and many other operators had immaculate modern cars.

Nb. We spent approx $8,000 USD which is no small sum and as like other travellers, we planned and saved up for this over many years.

Date visited: July 2016

carvrodrigo21_5087's picture
carvrodrigo21_5087 03/08/2015

“Excellent”

2 years ago

Mine english is not very good so I will be quick: We learn about it started in africa from a Portuguese friend. We had to decide where our honeymoon would be and we decided to go to Kenya and Tanzania. We usually travel to europe or...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
01/06/2015
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
serengeti,amboseli, tarangire, ngorongoro

Mine english is not very good so I will be quick: We learn about it started in africa from a Portuguese friend. We had to decide where our honeymoon would be and we decided to go to Kenya and Tanzania. We usually travel to europe or South America (Brazil) but decided to try something more exotic and risky :) It was amazing! We see the big 5 animals, the Ngorongoro Crater is the more beautiful place I have see in my life. We see big families of elephants and babies in Tarangire. We see Kilimanjaro mountain in Amboseli. We see leopard in top of tree in Serengeti. Looks like a movie. Fantastic :)

carenbeeman_5037's picture
carenbeeman_5037 03/02/2015

“Better than a Dream”

2 years ago

I traveled in Jan 2014 and sent friends Feb 2015. We went with AAAfrica. I had this dream on my bucket list and never imagined it would be better then my imagination. Augustine was our guide and his knowledge of his country, the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/01/2015
Length of safari: 
11 Days
Safari destinations: 

I traveled in Jan 2014 and sent friends Feb 2015. We went with AAAfrica. I had this dream on my bucket list and never imagined it would be better then my imagination. Augustine was our guide and his knowledge of his country, the animals, and the terrain was unmatched. He took care of every need and made sure we stayed healthy and happy. The sights were breath taking. My friends were hesitant to go because of the Ebola breakout but we explained that it would be like if someone had Ebola in NYC and you were in California. Tanzania is so far from where the disease is happeneIng you don't even have to be concerned. They took my advice and said there trip with Augustine was the best trip they have taken and they have traveled all over the world. Frankly if you had only one trip to do in your life I would recommend going with Augustine at AAAfrica.

halebostanci.ist_5016's picture
halebostanci.is... 02/27/2015

“Top of the World!”

2 years ago

We got to the top of Kilimanjaro!
The stay at your headquarters was more than great, people are extremely extremely friendly, helpful, honest and we really felt at home. Keep it up.
Your customer service is far more than...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/23/2014
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro

We got to the top of Kilimanjaro!
The stay at your headquarters was more than great, people are extremely extremely friendly, helpful, honest and we really felt at home. Keep it up.
Your customer service is far more than excellent, response time to e-mails is just amazing.
Mountain trek as a whole was good, we really enjoyed our time, the weather and the climb.
During the trek the food was excellent in terms of quantity, quality, etc... we had no comments about that.
Guide ( Joseph ) and porters were friendly and very helpful to us. They really did everything they could to cheer us.

estebanconejog_4947's picture
estebanconejog_4947 02/19/2015

“Great company”

2 years ago

We organized our visit to a Masai village near Nairobi with It Started in Africa. Emails were quick and informative. Transfers upon arrival went smooth, guide Moses was very nice and enthusiastic. The vehicle as in excellent...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/19/2015
Length of safari: 
1 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Masai Village

We organized our visit to a Masai village near Nairobi with It Started in Africa. Emails were quick and informative. Transfers upon arrival went smooth, guide Moses was very nice and enthusiastic. The vehicle as in excellent condition and the masai village was only for us, non-touristic out of the beaten track experience. Definitely a special experience and the tour operator made it all possible for us with minimal effort on our side.

brmichaelok_4609's picture
brmichaelok_4609 01/10/2015

“Perfect!”

2 years ago

I would like to thank all the team of It Started in Africa for such a wonderful experience with my family in the Serengeti. I will never forget the sounds, the smells, the breakfast with wildebeests, the great guide (Mathias) and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/09/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti

I would like to thank all the team of It Started in Africa for such a wonderful experience with my family in the Serengeti. I will never forget the sounds, the smells, the breakfast with wildebeests, the great guide (Mathias) and the warmth with which we were always received and taken care of.

clararoovers_4564's picture
clararoovers_4564 01/03/2015

“Game reserve Experience”

2 years ago

We hired It Started in Africa for a game reserve experience for us and our daughter, just a couple of weeks ago.
We had a fantastic experience, with a good vehicle, knowledgeable driver and also some luck with the game drives...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
01/03/2015
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
serengeti

We hired It Started in Africa for a game reserve experience for us and our daughter, just a couple of weeks ago.
We had a fantastic experience, with a good vehicle, knowledgeable driver and also some luck with the game drives as we saw the big5 multiple times.

They arranged the transport and the reservations. It all went off flawlessly! We highly recommend It Started in Africa as a travel agent and tour arranger!

alessandra.becker_4552's picture
alessandra.beck... 12/30/2014

“Kenya”

2 years ago

I recommend this agency to do a perfect safari in Masai Mara and Amboseli.

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/11/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 

I recommend this agency to do a perfect safari in Masai Mara and Amboseli.

joao.mp.oliveira_4548's picture
joao.mp.oliveir... 12/29/2014

“A great safari experience”

2 years ago

I did a safari with It Started in Africa a few years back, I was lucky to be one of the first people they took on a trip. It was an amazing and memorable experience, I went during the wildebeest migration and it was great! It's...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
01/03/2012
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti

I did a safari with It Started in Africa a few years back, I was lucky to be one of the first people they took on a trip. It was an amazing and memorable experience, I went during the wildebeest migration and it was great! It's something that everyone should be able to see, and I'm sure it's also amazing during the rest of the year.

We visited Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengeti and were able to see all the big animals we would want to see. The driver was very knowledgeable and helpful, as was the cook. The food was very good. We were sleeping in tents but everything was always prepared by the time we arrived so it was very comfortable. I got mostly impressed by their organisation, so it was very easy for us to book the safari back home and then we worked out the details, meeting point, etc. when we arrived. The safari was not rushed and the driver listened to us to decide where to go next or what to look for.

Even though the operation was at the very beginning, it all was very smooth and everything was made easy by the very friendly people in charge (Baraja, Joao). The lodging, food, everything was great and they were very flexible to accommodate our needs. All in all a great experience.

lucianosaucedose_4528's picture
lucianosaucedos... 12/27/2014

“Big5, Culture and Human History”

2 years ago

This was our third trip to East Africa with It Started in Africa and it was the most remarkable. The Guide Johnson gave us a terrific experience. We managed to get fantastic close up views of birds and amazing wildlife including the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/03/2014
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti

This was our third trip to East Africa with It Started in Africa and it was the most remarkable. The Guide Johnson gave us a terrific experience. We managed to get fantastic close up views of birds and amazing wildlife including the famous "big five". We experienced the Masai way of life by visiting a local village, we went to Olduvai Gorge for a true open air museum of the early men. We brought home memories we will remember and cherish for our lifetimes.

Luciano Saucedo

EikeWiegandde_4503's picture
EikeWiegandde_4503 12/22/2014

“Most beautiful country in the world - with the best team”

2 years ago

Tanzania has everything, the tallest free standing mountain, the most incredible national parks and some of the best beaches. The people are fantastic and the food is great :) And if you visit this amazing country with the right...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/10/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti

Tanzania has everything, the tallest free standing mountain, the most incredible national parks and some of the best beaches. The people are fantastic and the food is great :) And if you visit this amazing country with the right people to show you the natural beauty, then it is something you will never forget.

We came back home and we would like to thank you very much for such a nice safari. Our driver James was fantastic. Your staff are very kind people. The food was great (specially breakfast and dinner that were delicious). Camp sites were perfectly ok. We were on a budget tour so the camps were exactly what we needed. The experience was so much worth it and we can't believe it was over so quickly.

kevincthoward_4468's picture
kevincthoward_4468 12/17/2014

“They always go the extra mile. ”

2 years ago

I was quite worried on the difficulty of planing our trip from the United States with a tour operator from Tanzania. Mr. Joao Oliveira from It Started in Africa immediately made our worries disappear. He always answered our...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/17/2014
Length of safari: 
12 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
tarangire, manyara, serengeti, ngorongoro, eyasi

I was quite worried on the difficulty of planing our trip from the United States with a tour operator from Tanzania. Mr. Joao Oliveira from It Started in Africa immediately made our worries disappear. He always answered our questions within hours if not minutes (I have one request answered in 30 seconds). We also speak on the phone for more specific clarifications I needed. From the first contact until leaving Tanzania, this tour operator always went the extra mile to make sure they could accommodate all our needs. Pretty much everything exceeded our expectations from the quality of the guide, accommodation, wildlife seen, the beauty of the national parks, etc.
Would definitely recommend and will use again in a future opportunity that I hope comes soon.

fgio2000_4465's picture
fgio2000_4465 12/15/2014

“Great safari”

2 years ago

Great safari through native parklands. Guide very professional and always gets you as close to the wildlife as possible - even watched a lioness snooze next to the landcruiser front wheel right in front of us!!! Catering is also...

Value: 
Days
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/16/2013
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 

Great safari through native parklands. Guide very professional and always gets you as close to the wildlife as possible - even watched a lioness snooze next to the landcruiser front wheel right in front of us!!! Catering is also fantastic: memorable lunch of local produce.

Highly recommended, I am returning to have another trip with these guys in 2015!!!!

stevenbraytheone_4439's picture
stevenbraytheon... 12/12/2014

“2 days / 1 night in Amboseli National Park”

2 years ago

I have a great experience of safaris in East Africa but never visited Amboseli. Although it lacks the roughness and wilderness of the Serengeti or Masai Mara, it sure is one of the most scenic and beautiful national parks I've ever...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/16/2014
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
amboseli

I have a great experience of safaris in East Africa but never visited Amboseli. Although it lacks the roughness and wilderness of the Serengeti or Masai Mara, it sure is one of the most scenic and beautiful national parks I've ever seen.

It Started in Africa provided us with a smooth experience. Guide was exactly how we imagined he would be and the wildlife was better than what we expected. My best pictures of Africa were taken during this tour.

francescahanson1981_4416's picture
francescahanson... 12/09/2014

“Thank you for this experience”

2 years ago

Thank you for an amazing experience. Your team were very knowledgeable and made it a very enjoyable experience too.

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
04/16/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
serengeti manyara ngorongoro

Thank you for an amazing experience. Your team were very knowledgeable and made it a very enjoyable experience too.

ferencszemeti_4380's picture
ferencszemeti_4380 12/01/2014

“Fantastic Kilimanjaro climb with It Started in Africa”

2 years ago

We had really a great time in Tanzania, safari was absolutely perfect but the biggest adventure and most amazing time for us was the Kilimajaro climb. At the National Park gate it was told us, that my son, Laborc Gellért SZEMETI is...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/10/2013
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro

We had really a great time in Tanzania, safari was absolutely perfect but the biggest adventure and most amazing time for us was the Kilimajaro climb. At the National Park gate it was told us, that my son, Laborc Gellért SZEMETI is the youngest one, who ever climbed Kilimanjaro via Lemosho route. (He was born 11.10.2002 so he was only 10 years old when he reached the summit in July 2013)

We were very satisfied with the company and arrangements. I would like to highlight, that we were even surprised, how efficiant their staff were, when my friend's mobile phone was stolen (after the Kilimanjaro trek by a porter from another company), so they could find it and my friend got it back after our safari. Staff was really friendly and helpfull, food was great, everithing was ok.

I would like to highlight, that we were satisfied and happy.

The Kilimanjaro experience was really good for my son. Especially thanks for your guide and of cours, the whole team, including Mr. Limo, who was very kind with us. Greetings to him as well!

Thanks again & I wish you and your team members all the best!

hirotowatawatanabe_4312's picture
hirotowatawatan... 11/19/2014

“Great people, amazing mountain”

2 years ago

We climbed Kilimanjaro during a break from our volunteering in Northern Tanzania. We were a group of 20 or 21 and we all got to the summit. Can't explain the feeling. I come from Japan and Mount Fuji is a completely different...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/10/2014
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
kilimanjaro

We climbed Kilimanjaro during a break from our volunteering in Northern Tanzania. We were a group of 20 or 21 and we all got to the summit. Can't explain the feeling. I come from Japan and Mount Fuji is a completely different experience. It made me feel like I can challenge my fears. The organization of the tour was perfect, great guide and great people in this company helped us with everything including the price.

priceAsarah_4254's picture
priceAsarah_4254 11/07/2014

“I <3 Kenya”

2 years ago

I have traveled all over the world since young adult. With more than 60 countries in my curriculum, Africa was the continent I visited the less, spending most of my time in Asia and South America. It was time to visit Africa and do...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/15/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
masai mara

I have traveled all over the world since young adult. With more than 60 countries in my curriculum, Africa was the continent I visited the less, spending most of my time in Asia and South America. It was time to visit Africa and do a safari in their most popular destination: The Masai Mara. I can only speak about my regret for not exploring Africa earlier. The people are amazing, the wildlife is just stunning, you have to go to know how it is, it is difficult to explain. It has absolutely nothing to do with a Zoo. here the animals run free and the circle of life can be experienced.
Our tour operator was It Started in Africa, chosen after careful consideration and analysis of reviews and forums. We're all happy with the choice as the logistics were smooth, the car (land cruiser!) was in great shape and never let us down and specially the guide, Kweka, provided one of the best experiences we could ever hoped for. Highly recommended!

jamesbourneleeds_4251's picture
jamesbourneleed... 11/07/2014

“It started in Africa took us from the summit of Kilimanjaro to the crater of ngorongoro”

2 years ago

we reached the summit of Africa's tallest mountain and visit the gorgeous crater of ngorongoro. Organization and comradeship was brilliant, no complains at all and in ngorongoro we saw the big5 except for the leopard which I...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
01/07/2014
Length of safari: 
9 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro, ngorongoro

we reached the summit of Africa's tallest mountain and visit the gorgeous crater of ngorongoro. Organization and comradeship was brilliant, no complains at all and in ngorongoro we saw the big5 except for the leopard which I think is not to be found there. Guides were funny, talkative and must had superman vision :)

fernando.pnc_4221's picture
fernando.pnc_4221 10/31/2014

“Machame 7 days Kilimanjaro - Success!”

2 years ago

We did a company travel to Tanzania last August. We were a group of 40 people. The travel agency that the administration from our company hired, uses It Started in Africa as their tour operator for their kilimanjaro treks and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/31/2014
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro

We did a company travel to Tanzania last August. We were a group of 40 people. The travel agency that the administration from our company hired, uses It Started in Africa as their tour operator for their kilimanjaro treks and safaris. I dont know how they are safari-wise but from the Kilimanjaro perspective, everything was perfectly organized, from pickup in the airport and transfer to the hotel + refreshments, to high punctuality, professionalism from all the staff and management, equipment, comradeship, etc. everything was flaweless.
Best thing: All of us managed to get to the summit which was amazing. Our group picture is going to be posted in our company meetings room as a sign of our accomplishment.
The tour operator is highly recommended and we'll use them again when we come back for a safari, maybe in a couple of years.

kyasar07_4189's picture
kyasar07_4189 10/24/2014

“Fascinating 3 days”

2 years ago

There are no words to explain or describe our 3 day safari with ItSartedtInAfrica Tour organization in Tanzania plains. We have fully satisfied. We have seen every animals we wondered.
The best thing in safari was our tour...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/28/2014
Length of safari: 
3 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Lake Manyara, Lake Eyasi

There are no words to explain or describe our 3 day safari with ItSartedtInAfrica Tour organization in Tanzania plains. We have fully satisfied. We have seen every animals we wondered.
The best thing in safari was our tour guide, Asseri. He force yourself too much to show us all animals. He was contacting with his friends in game drive areas and when he got info about an animal in a location he drove us there and stop in a good and nearest position to animals for taking the best picture and view. On evenings, he told us Tanzania culture, life and some funny stories. Sometimes he protected us from bad guys who seem to sell some things on the roads. That made our tour great, safety and funny.
We will definitely be with them on our next visit for Serengeti and Masai Mara in next summer.
Thanks you so much, It Started in Africa !!

lorenzomassa80_4175's picture
lorenzomassa80_4175 10/22/2014

“Il viaggio più bello!”

2 years ago

It was a worderful safari with this guys! It was my first safari in Kenya and I loved it. After some discussion, we went with the Awesome Kenya tour and visit Lake Nakuru and Mara. Plenty of animals and to see the great migration...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/17/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Lake Nakuru and Masai Mara

It was a worderful safari with this guys! It was my first safari in Kenya and I loved it. After some discussion, we went with the Awesome Kenya tour and visit Lake Nakuru and Mara. Plenty of animals and to see the great migration was awesome! Never tought there were so many animals :). Alex our guide was like a friend and his knowledgment of the animals and the terrain was out of this world. I just have to thank to It started in Africa team from they promptiness since i send the first email to when i arrived home :).

mgsilv_4164's picture
mgsilv_4164 10/21/2014

“Excelent”

2 years ago

Staff very professional, helpful and kindly.
I recommend this agency to do a perfect safari in Tanzania.

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/03/2013
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengueti National Park; Ngorongoro Crater; Tarangire National Park;Lake Manyara

Staff very professional, helpful and kindly.
I recommend this agency to do a perfect safari in Tanzania.

Maureenwambui812_4135's picture
Maureenwambui81... 10/18/2014

“Top of the world”

2 years ago

I did it! Reaching the top of the Kilimanjaro is an amazing feeling of self accomplishment. I used it started in Africa and Lemosho route. Couldn't have asked for better. Fantastic team.

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/08/2014
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro

I did it! Reaching the top of the Kilimanjaro is an amazing feeling of self accomplishment. I used it started in Africa and Lemosho route. Couldn't have asked for better. Fantastic team.

joaomiguel13's picture
joaomiguel13 10/11/2014

“It Started in Africa made a dream honeymoon come true”

2 years ago

The overall experience with It Started in Africa couldn't be better, they've exceeded the high expectations i always had, it was definitely the key to make our honeymoon a dream.

The booking process perfectly handled by João...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/18/2014
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Seregenti, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara,Tarangire

The overall experience with It Started in Africa couldn't be better, they've exceeded the high expectations i always had, it was definitely the key to make our honeymoon a dream.

The booking process perfectly handled by João Oliveira, always answering my questions extremely promptly. He understood quickly me and my wife's preferences, magnificent on tailoring our itinerary.
Airport pick-up and briefing given by Andrew, where all the details for the safari were carefully reviewed.
A special compliment to our guide Isaac, very knowledgeable, experienced and always friendly. We learned tons about all the fauna and flora of the parks
visited. Isaac is absolutely outstanding in detecting animals from far away while driving the 4x4, and yes... we got the BIG 5!!

It Started in Africa, thank you so much!

krishnanaidoo.za's picture
krishnanaidoo.za 10/11/2014

“Great safari”

2 years ago

Choosing a safari company on the Northern Tanzanian circuit is not an easy task, as there are MANY companies!
From the beginning I could tell that It Started in Africa is a company with a difference ... from the great website...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/24/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro

Choosing a safari company on the Northern Tanzanian circuit is not an easy task, as there are MANY companies!
From the beginning I could tell that It Started in Africa is a company with a difference ... from the great website, and Joao's attentive and prompt email responses which puts one at ease regardless of your type of query.
The good experience continued upon arrival in Arusha and meeting Baraja (Director) and other ISIA staff.
I was travelling solo through Tanzania and wanted to join a group of travellers to do the 5 day safari with - ISIA helped with linking me up with a group.
And as for the safari itself ... its hard to go wrong with destinations like the Serengeti & Ngorongoro Crater - but ISIA certainly made the trip a whole lot better through a fantastic guide (Dickson) and the food which was well prepared by chef Roman.

giovannip's picture
giovannip 10/10/2014

“Lake Nakuru safari. Great team!”

2 years ago

It Started in Africa organized our tour in lake Nakuru. The guide spoke perfect English, was enthusiastic and explained to me the behavior of all the animals and birds. We saw rhinos next to our car. Instead of vans, we had a land...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/10/2014
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Lake Nakuru

It Started in Africa organized our tour in lake Nakuru. The guide spoke perfect English, was enthusiastic and explained to me the behavior of all the animals and birds. We saw rhinos next to our car. Instead of vans, we had a land cruiser and they gave us awesome binoculars. Nothing to complain, organization was flawless.

perkinscandrew's picture
perkinscandrew 10/09/2014

“Excellent fly-in Safari in Selous”

2 years ago

We (me and my partner) did a fly-in safari in Selous through It Started in Africa and it was excellent. Everything was smooth from the morning transfer to the evening return. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting and we...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/09/2014
Length of safari: 
1 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Selous

We (me and my partner) did a fly-in safari in Selous through It Started in Africa and it was excellent. Everything was smooth from the morning transfer to the evening return. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting and we were very lucky with wildlife even though we had only one day.

sunnyyangjk's picture
sunnyyangjk 10/09/2014

“amazing trip in Tanzania”

2 years ago

We did a 9 day safari with It Started in Africa, and the whole experience is great. We love Tanzania, the animal kingdom is amazing. We saw a lot of animals, giraffe, elephants, lions, zebras, and the Seregenti-endless plain is a...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/19/2014
Length of safari: 
9 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
seregenti, Ngorongro crater, Lake Mayanra,Tarangire

We did a 9 day safari with It Started in Africa, and the whole experience is great. We love Tanzania, the animal kingdom is amazing. We saw a lot of animals, giraffe, elephants, lions, zebras, and the Seregenti-endless plain is a real experience in Africa! The scenery in Ngorongoro crater is amazing as well.

luis.rosello's picture
luis.rosello 10/09/2014

“UNFORGETABLE SAFARY”

2 years ago

Since planning we take perception that It Started in Afrika were the ideal partner to provide a safary experience in Tanzania.
A warm reception at Arusha airport; an excellent guide with great professional and human skills and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/02/2014
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
SERENGETTI - NGORONGORO - TARANGIRE

Since planning we take perception that It Started in Afrika were the ideal partner to provide a safary experience in Tanzania.
A warm reception at Arusha airport; an excellent guide with great professional and human skills and a team always caring about our wellfare, a good knowledgment about tradicional culture, were pillars for this unforgetable safary.
Thanks to all TEAM of It Started in Afrika.

katie.gowrie's picture
katie.gowrie 10/08/2014

“Fantastic safari experience!”

2 years ago

Our experience with It Started in Africa was wonderful, from our initial information request all the way to our airport drop-off. We were happy with the company's ability to accommodate our special requests, including doing a day...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/23/2014
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro, Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro

Our experience with It Started in Africa was wonderful, from our initial information request all the way to our airport drop-off. We were happy with the company's ability to accommodate our special requests, including doing a day tour of Kilimanjaro before we kicked off our safari. We loved our guide, who was fun and very knowledgeable. And we were happy with the professional and helpful way the company corresponded with us as we planned our trip, and then as they conducted our tour seamlessly.

This company is wonderful if you want a private small-group tour for a great price! My friend and I were happy to have a guide and jeep to ourselves for six days as we drove around, enjoying the wildlife and scenery, and taking plenty of pictures at our leisure. Itinerary, jeep, camps, food—all were fantastic, and the overall experience was unforgettable! :)

arturcabral's picture
arturcabral 10/08/2014

“fantastic service provider for travel photography”

2 years ago

Amazing 20 days traveling and photographing in Tanzania, with "It Started in Africa".
We did a private tailormade safari in order to choose the best locations and spend the required time seeking the best...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/07/2014
Length of safari: 
20 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Arusha NP, Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Selous

Amazing 20 days traveling and photographing in Tanzania, with "It Started in Africa".
We did a private tailormade safari in order to choose the best locations and spend the required time seeking the best opportunities for photograph people, landscapes and wildlife, considering our low budget limitation.

We traveled in a 4x4 jeep, with a driver and a cook, that prepared comforting appropriated meals for us. At night we camp in some nice spots.

pjmcunhasafari's picture
pjmcunhasafari 10/05/2014

“Amazing”

2 years ago

I and my wife had a safari a few years ago, with It Started in Africa - Tanzania Adventures and Safaris. I must say that was an unforgettable experience. I am still "processing" the huge set of incredible pictures we were lucky to...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/09/2012
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire National Park, Lake Manyara, Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater

I and my wife had a safari a few years ago, with It Started in Africa - Tanzania Adventures and Safaris. I must say that was an unforgettable experience. I am still "processing" the huge set of incredible pictures we were lucky to take.

Here are some: https://www.flickr.com/photos/paulo_x/sets/72157631598866909

heloslduarte's picture
heloslduarte 10/03/2014

“wonderful safari”

2 years ago

One of the best moments of my life . Everything works perfect with It Started in Africa , The guides, the car, the equipment and the choice of the places we visit, all perfect. Joao was very helpful in all situations, before and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/03/2012
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
serengueti ngorongoro maniara

One of the best moments of my life . Everything works perfect with It Started in Africa , The guides, the car, the equipment and the choice of the places we visit, all perfect. Joao was very helpful in all situations, before and during the safari.

jamesbmurphy's picture
jamesbmurphy 10/03/2014

“Great Safari”

2 years ago

Well what can I say about the great safari experience I had with It started in Africa, to say this company bent over backwards to help me would be an understatement. They did everything I asked and more, from collecting me at the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/01/2012
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti National Park

Well what can I say about the great safari experience I had with It started in Africa, to say this company bent over backwards to help me would be an understatement. They did everything I asked and more, from collecting me at the airport and arranging my hotel and doing the same for my return home but lets get to the safari, WOW it was fantastic we started off in Tarangire then onto the Serengeti, Ngorongoro and finally Lake Magyars. The driver and guide were great, stopped when asked and the guide knew so much about the animals. We got to see all of the big 5. Now onto the chef, well the food was out of this world!! 3 meals a day and was top class. The guys would also bring me to local shops in the evening to get some beers and snacks. If I ever have to opportunity to go back to Tanzania I know the 1st call I will be making will be to It started in Africa.10/10

ccollon's picture
ccollon 09/21/2014

“Great Experience in Arusha National Park”

2 years ago

I booked this one-day trip with It started in Africa and everything was perfect. Joao has been very helpful suggesting nice places to see in Tanzania, answering every single question I had very promptly. My guide Martin was great at...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/31/2014
Length of safari: 
1 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Arusha National Park

I booked this one-day trip with It started in Africa and everything was perfect. Joao has been very helpful suggesting nice places to see in Tanzania, answering every single question I had very promptly. My guide Martin was great at spotting animals and explaining to me all he knows about wildlife, he was talkative, very patient and cared a lot about what I wanted to see. I got the chance to go canoeing while I was there. Traveling on my own, I felt things were very well organized and I felt safe. I would definitely recommend this company and go back on a safari trip with them!

audreycourtoiscanada's picture
audreycourtoiscanada 09/17/2014

“Perfect safari in Ngorongoro”

2 years ago

It Started in Africa did a great job in providing the perfect tour for my family. Traveling with kids is not always easy and can be frustrating at times but they went the extra mile to keep them excited and entertained and they...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/12/2014
Length of safari: 
1 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Ngorongoro

It Started in Africa did a great job in providing the perfect tour for my family. Traveling with kids is not always easy and can be frustrating at times but they went the extra mile to keep them excited and entertained and they absolutely loved the day tour in Ngorongoro. The guide Frank was great. He was absolutely outstanding in detecting animals from very far away while driving the 4x4 at the same time. Completely surpassed my expectations of what a safari could be in terms of friendliness, professionalism, knowledge and comfort.

Lgbritton52's picture
Lgbritton52 09/12/2014

“Excellent+++”

2 years ago

Our group of 14 travelers recently returned from a 7 day/6 night safari in Tanzania with It Started in Africa. Although this is a relatively new company, the reviews we read were positive, so we thought we'd give them a try. From...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/13/2014
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarengire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro, lake Manyara

Our group of 14 travelers recently returned from a 7 day/6 night safari in Tanzania with It Started in Africa. Although this is a relatively new company, the reviews we read were positive, so we thought we'd give them a try. From start to finish, they far exceeded our expectations. Joao, our travel advisor, was superb in helping us plan our itinerary. He offered great suggestions on parks, accommodations, etc., and was extremely prompt and thorough in responding to our many questions and concerns. He was also very good in handling all the details and logistics involved in making travel arrangements for such a large group.

The safari itself was one of those "once in a lifetime" experiences. Our guides, Hope and Johnson, were terrific! They worked hard from morning to night, enabling us to see amazing wildlife (including "the big five") close up. They were knowledgeable and great at answering our many questions. We were originally scheduled to visit Tarangire, Serengeti,and Ngorongoro N/Ps. We had great visits at each of these, plus they squeezed in a memorable visit to Lake Manyara N/P as well.

Our accommodations were unique and fun, with staff at all of them going out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well cared for. Ang'ata Serengeti campsite was a particular delight. Arriving back from safari, we were always met with cool towels to clean our dusty faces, beverages, and hot water carried to our tents for some unforgettable showers. Campfires at night and wildlife wandering through the campsite at sunrise added to the experience.

Transportation(safari vehicles, airlines, and transfers) worked like clockwork and were very comfortable. Several in our group commented that they'd never been on a trip that went so smoothly.

Thanks to the staff at It Started in Africa, our safari was a amazing experience/adventure. Although many of their safari groups are smaller than ours, they very capably managed our large group. They offer a great experience at a reasonable price. Based on our experience,I strongly encourage you to give them a try.

hatton.jennifer's picture
hatton.jennifer 09/09/2014

“Disappointing”

2 years ago

I’m generally a patient person, but the way It Started In Africa treated us was unacceptable. When we arrived at the airport, there was no one there to pick us up as planned. No one was answering the phone either, and we worried if...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/02/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, Tarangire

I’m generally a patient person, but the way It Started In Africa treated us was unacceptable. When we arrived at the airport, there was no one there to pick us up as planned. No one was answering the phone either, and we worried if there had been some kind of misunderstanding. We gave up waiting and had to find our own ride to the hotel. The next morning they did arrive to pick us up - however, we were told we had to pay the balance on the spot in cash. We had paid a down payment before we left and were prepared to pay the rest on Visa, but we were not carrying around thousands of dollars in our pockets. This was not something that had been made clear up-front.

From that point, everything took a turn for the worst as they drove us to different banks and internet cafes for hours each day so we could try to pay, which cut into our actual safari time on a daily basis. I won’t elaborate on the details here, but we tried Paypal and other methods. Nothing worked due to most companies automatically dismissing Tanzanian transactions as suspicious. On the last day, after hours of calls to the USA, we were finally able to pay via Western Union for a sizeable fee and later a $317 phone bill for all the roaming charges.

It is frustrating enough to deal with those kinds of problems at home, much less on a holiday which you hope will be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and for which you are paying a hefty price. We never would have booked with It Started In Africa if we knew how stressful the trip would become. To be fair, we did see some incredible wildlife, but we hardly had a moment where we could relax without Baraja calling to try to get us to pay in some new way. All of this would have been a non-issue if we had been clearly told about the payment situation and paid beforehand or if they had a working Visa machine.

To top it off, on the last night their car broke down and we had to hike a steep mile up Kilimanjaro with all of our luggage (not kidding) to get to our hotel. Again, I’m usually very forgiving of things like that – stuff happens – but it confirmed our impression of the company as being completely disorganized. There are a few other things I could tell you about our trip but I won’t post them here because it would sound mean and accusatory and that is not the point I’m trying to make, but message me if you want to talk.

I would recommend avoiding this company. While the driver and the cooks were great skilled people, the managers caused us a lot of stress and ruined our chances of having the relaxing vacation we paid so much for while showing little empathy for how they were making us feel.

xkckx's picture
xkckx 09/01/2014

“Amazing safari experience in Tanzania”

2 years ago

When planning our trip to Tanzania, we had the following things in mind: we wanted to do a 5 day tour in Tanzania, we wanted a nice mixture of tented camps and lodges for a reasonable price and see a variety of different landscapes...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/19/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro

When planning our trip to Tanzania, we had the following things in mind: we wanted to do a 5 day tour in Tanzania, we wanted a nice mixture of tented camps and lodges for a reasonable price and see a variety of different landscapes and wildlife settings. We were overwhelmed by the amount of tour operators present in Arusha, and in the end contacted 12 different operators - It Started in Africa convinced us with the most flexible offer in terms of accommodations, giving us the opportunity to choose what we liked best, and their honest recommendation of what made the most sense during our 5 day trip. Together with Joao we designed our very own itinerary which perfectly fit our wishes - we stayed 1 night in Tarangire National Park, 2 nights in Serengeti and 1 night in the Ngorongoro Crater. Joao recommended not to visit Lake Manyara at this time of the year as the wildlife is not overly abundant - and he was right from what we heard from fellow travelers. Our accommodations were all very different and all lovely - from the spacious lodge outside of Tarangire to the wonderful Ang'ata camp sites in the middle of Serengeti (where you could hear the buffalos passing at night).
We cannot stress enough the fact of having a knowledgeable and sympathetic guide for the trip - Johnson our guide did a perfect job, answering all our questions, explaining everything we wanted to know and teaching us some Swahili on the way! He has 6 years of experience in guiding safaris in the Northern Circuit, which he demonstrated in always coming up with new ideas of where to look for animals and not getting lost in the road maze in Serengeti. We learned a lot about Tanzanian culture, the national parks and the wildlife. Thanks for this great trip, Johnson!
Finally here are our highlights of the 5 days:
- Tarangire National Park: Great drive along the river bank with a lot of wildlife, especially the Elephant families were so much fun to watch!
- Serengeti: you will find the plains truly breathtaking, with herds of zebras and wildebeests. We were especially impressed by the lion families with their cubs or their prey.
- Ngorongoro Crater: Driving down into the crater is an exceptional experience viewing the wonderful landscape - here Johnson guided us to see a rhino, making our big 5 sighting complete.
All in all, from the flexible planning with Joao, to the pick-up at the airport and especially the tour with Johnson it was a fantastic experience! It Started in Africa not only professionally planned our trip but moreover helped us put all the ideas that we had into practice, making this an unforgettable 5 days! Thank you so much to the whole team! Absolutely recommendable!

barnett.twes's picture
barnett.twes 08/28/2014

“Murchison Falls”

2 years ago

Lovely Safari, A group of 26 were picked up from Entebbe and we headed for Murchison falls hoping to see as many animals as we could.
You know the animals rule the jungle and they have their own timetable!
We arrived at...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/17/2014
Length of safari: 
3 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Murchison Falls

Lovely Safari, A group of 26 were picked up from Entebbe and we headed for Murchison falls hoping to see as many animals as we could.
You know the animals rule the jungle and they have their own timetable!
We arrived at Fort Murchison Lodge and had lunch and then set off for the game drive.
Fortunately we were in time for the deer and elephants and Giraffe and Guess What? A Lion Chilling in the Long tall grass. How lovely seeing it at its home and not in the zoo!!!

What a lovely First Day, Second day was amazing, We managed to be early for a hunt. Five Lions surrounding the deer! Poor lions as they hunted tourists are also there to inconvenience them! I don't know if they Managed to eat that day because we were enjoying watching them as they planned.
More Giraffes and Elephants and Buffalos and deer and dung Beatles and so on... Thank You Simba Africa Expeditions.
Here is a picture though not perfect but will find a better one next time
Barnett

kbrooks's picture
kbrooks 08/27/2014

“Trip of a lifetime”

2 years ago

From the moment I contacted Joao, I felt reassured. He responded promptly and cheerfully. He helped me customize our safari, accommodating me and my two sons. We stayed in all types of accommodation from public tent sites to a...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/16/2014
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Serengheti, Ngorongoro

From the moment I contacted Joao, I felt reassured. He responded promptly and cheerfully. He helped me customize our safari, accommodating me and my two sons. We stayed in all types of accommodation from public tent sites to a fancy hotel. Joao's recommendations were spot on.

We would not have been able to see the variety of wildlife were it not for our excellent guide, Isaac. His ten years of experience put us in amazing front-row seats to animal behavior I could only dream of. We saw cheetah kill a reedbuck, leopard perched on a rock, lion cubs nursing and a secretary bird feed it's young. Isaac knew the Latin names of trees, bird calls, and animal behavior. I could not be more pleased and am still in the glow of witnessing these powerful animals in their habitat.

My greatest compliment for Isaac is that he is completely respectful of the animals. Other drivers broke the law and drove too close, off road, and on private roads. Isaac maintained his professionalism and respect throughout our 10 days.

rajibsarma3's picture
rajibsarma3 08/19/2014

“Tanzanian Safari”

2 years ago

Dear Jaoa,

It was a wonderful experience we had at Tanzania, thanks to you & your wonderful team. We had a great time during the safaries we took. Of course food was a little bit of a problem as we don't take beef &...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/09/2014
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangiri, Manyara, Serengiti & Ngorongoro

Dear Jaoa,

It was a wonderful experience we had at Tanzania, thanks to you & your wonderful team. We had a great time during the safaries we took. Of course food was a little bit of a problem as we don't take beef & pork. The overall experience was quite good. The driver cum guide was very accomodating. We were with three kids, but still the driver had adhered to a flexible timetable which was really appreciated. The stay was quite ok, considering the remotness of the region. The vehicle provided was quite good, except a small hitch one day. Thank you very much for a nice and wonderful family vacation. We will definately recommend you to anyone who wants to go for Tanzanian Safari. I will send a few other snaps.
Regards
Rajib Sarma

cnkoyani's picture
cnkoyani 08/07/2014

“Simply the Best, Unforgettable and Stunning experience.... ”

2 years ago

To be honest, when I contacted Joao Oliveira for Safari, I became bit suspicious as he used to reply usually within 1-2 hours (even in the night). Also, Safari company is quite new and therefore had to search for how genuine they...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/10/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro crater

To be honest, when I contacted Joao Oliveira for Safari, I became bit suspicious as he used to reply usually within 1-2 hours (even in the night). Also, Safari company is quite new and therefore had to search for how genuine they are, before transferring advance payment. Reviews about the company made me to trust them. Joao helped to arrange and make safari itinerary in the best convenient way. I was completely satisfied with his responses towards my all questions and queries.

We made a safari for 5 days, 1 day Tarangire ( 1 night at Maramboi Campsite), 3 days Serengeti (2 nights at Ikoma bushcamp Serengeti), 1 day Ngorongoro crater (1 night at Rhino Ngorongoro). Fabulous locations, fair arrangements, good food and facilities.

Tarangire was nice experience but we spotted mainly elephants, giraffes and zebras (no cats) which we spotted also in Serengeti and Crater, and therefore it would have been no harm in skipping Tarangire. Manyara lake is famous mainly for Flamingos, which was not our primary aim to spot in Safari. Serengeti and Crater safaris were mind blowing. We could spot all big 5 animals (Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Black Rhino and Wild-Buffalo).

Martin, our tour guide, guided us in all possible ways. He has eyes like an eagle and could spot animals even a km far. Binoculars provided by company made our safari much more interesting and exciting. Instead of Joao (as he was out of station), Mathias helped us.

Overall, I would recommend It Started in Africa 100%. They know how to make your once in a lifetime safari memorable in all ways. They are very joyful, friendly and fantastic.

nries's picture
nries 08/03/2014

“SUPERB, professional, wonderful tour company!”

2 years ago

From the moment we (four college professors on our first trip to Tanzania) contacted Joao by email, to the very last goodbyes in Arusha, It Started in Africa was wonderful to work with. Every detail was perfect and to specification...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/06/2014
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Ngorogoro, Serengeti, Lake Natron/El Donyo Lengai

From the moment we (four college professors on our first trip to Tanzania) contacted Joao by email, to the very last goodbyes in Arusha, It Started in Africa was wonderful to work with. Every detail was perfect and to specification. Joao listened and understood our requests, and our guide, Isaack, was incomparable. Everything materialized exactly as planned. The camps we stayed in (at the $150 per person per night level, approximately) were fabulous. Breakfast, box lunches, and dinners were superb and varied, and accommodated a vegetarian extremely well.

Most crucially, we learned so much from ISiA's guide Isaack, who could spot a predator in the distance at the same time he was steering the Land Cruiser along the rockiest of roads AND telling us something about the ecology of the place! We saw everything but rhinos (those guys are hiding from people now, I guess!)

Whether for a day trip or a longer journey, you cannot go wrong with this company. They are honest, professional, flexible, super organized, accommodating, knowledgeable, generous, and cheerful. They provide a range of choices and lots of information to help you plan. They know the landscape intimately and seem to be well liked and respected in local communities. Highly recommended - I hope to meet again with these good people from It Started in Africa.

inesgarces's picture
inesgarces 07/22/2014

“Outsanding Experience with It Started in Africa!”

2 years ago

Just returned from a 5-day safari organised by It Started in Africa, what an outstanding experience! Our safari exceeded any expectation I ever had.

We visited Tarangire Park, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater, the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/16/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro crater

Just returned from a 5-day safari organised by It Started in Africa, what an outstanding experience! Our safari exceeded any expectation I ever had.

We visited Tarangire Park, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater, the itinerary was great. We saw lot of animals and most of them really close! It was so exciting!
The team was fantastic! We chose a group safari and I couldn’t be happier with our ‘safari-mate’ Satish! What an incredible person to share this experience! Jonhson, our guide, was kwnoledgeable, familiar with local environment, nature and wildlife. He’s also an excellent driver and always kind! Pascal, our cook, was amazing! The food was incredible and soooo tasty! He was also so polite that we were grateful to have him in our team.

Thanks to all the people that made this experience unforgettable: Mathias, Andrew, Ludi and all the people in the guest house.

I would like to make special mention of João Oliveira (Marketing/Operations Manager).He was very helpful in all subjects and sent prompt responses. He was a big help in the planning of the entire trip and always friendly.

I must say that was an unforgettable experience with the most fantastic group we could ever wish, I would happily go to a safari with It Starded in Africa again and again!

Reynolds_email's picture
Reynolds_email 07/21/2014

“Awesome Day tour in the crater”

2 years ago

We just had one day available so that's what we wanted to see, the crater, and boy it was amazing! They took us there really really early so that we could make the most of the day. We saw a lioness hunting, cheetahs, huge huge huge...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/21/2014
Length of safari: 
1 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Ngorongoro Crater

We just had one day available so that's what we wanted to see, the crater, and boy it was amazing! They took us there really really early so that we could make the most of the day. We saw a lioness hunting, cheetahs, huge huge huge elephants that were out of this planet. Car was great, driver (Emmanuel) could spot a rhino with just his eyes while we had trouble finding him with our scopes, though the binoculars they gave us were TOP. Highly recommended.

mert.c.demir's picture
mert.c.demir 06/03/2014

“Godd day at Mikumi Part”

3 years ago

Our safari started with our guide calling us the day before. He came to the hotel one day before and we planned the tour. Our guide, Steve was pretty knowledgable and talkative. He was really helpful and said yes to all of our...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/01/2014
Length of safari: 
2 Days
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Mikumi

Our safari started with our guide calling us the day before. He came to the hotel one day before and we planned the tour. Our guide, Steve was pretty knowledgable and talkative. He was really helpful and said yes to all of our requsts.
The lodging was also ok and we stayed at a small barack with electricity although we paid for a tent. The food there was not high class but was OK.
Overall I can tell the safari exceeded our expectations.

garethparfitt3's picture
garethparfitt3 05/30/2014

“Unforgettable experience of a lifetime, thanks in a large part to ISIA.”

3 years ago

Just returned from an 8 night 9 day customized safari with ISIA. Very pleased, great experience. Knowledgeable driver/guide and a great cook. We appreciated what they did for us and they were really nice to travel with. Some high...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/30/2014
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
lake manyara, tarangire, empakai, ngorongoro, lake eyasi, oldonyo lengai

Just returned from an 8 night 9 day customized safari with ISIA. Very pleased, great experience. Knowledgeable driver/guide and a great cook. We appreciated what they did for us and they were really nice to travel with. Some high points: Our guide, Isaac, really knew all of the animals and birds and where to find them. We saw all of the wildlife that we hoped to see. Our cook Obed (Ahbed?) was great. Good meals and friendly service all the time. I thoroughly enjoyed hiking from Empakai Crater to Lake Natron with our gear travelling on donkeys. I think we really saw Africa without "tourist" glasses on.

We did another safari in Kenya and ISIA was much, much better. If you haven't been on a safari before you probably need to talk to some people who have. If you're used to staying in nice hotels and travelling in air condition buses you are in for a little culture shock. We are in our 60's and found it to be a wonderful experience. Every night we slept in tents, sometimes with cots but often on a map on the ground (took one night to get over that!). Hot water was sporadic and bathrooms were very basic. This has nothing to do with the company you choose, it's just how things are in rural Africa. I'm not sure many of my friends would choose to travel like this, preferring catered, all inclusive luxury to a trip like this. Too bad for them. This was an unforgettable experience of a lifetime, thanks in a large part to ISIA.
All of the people we met in Tanzania and Kenya were very pleasant, polite and helpful. If you can say "how are you" in Swahili, you will be greeted with a beaming smile and a very friendly reply.

HSALEM2's picture
HSALEM2 05/30/2014

“My best trip”

3 years ago

one of my best trips, this company made it so easy and enjoyable for us, we will never forget all personel who helped us and made our dream comes true
thanks Joao, Mathias, Issac and all the staff in all our accomodations,...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/15/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire,Ngorongoro, Seringiti

one of my best trips, this company made it so easy and enjoyable for us, we will never forget all personel who helped us and made our dream comes true
thanks Joao, Mathias, Issac and all the staff in all our accomodations, highly recommend them for a nice successful safari

magnusfaugstad's picture
magnusfaugstad 05/24/2014

“Great experiences with It Started In Africa.”

3 years ago

We were four friends who went to Tanzania. We heard with several safari companies, but ISIA was the one with the best offer, and also most flexible for suiting our needs.

We were all very satisfied, for several reasons:...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
05/24/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti, Tarangire, Ngorongoro Crater

We were four friends who went to Tanzania. We heard with several safari companies, but ISIA was the one with the best offer, and also most flexible for suiting our needs.

We were all very satisfied, for several reasons:
- We did see all big 5 and generally a lot of animals and beautiful landscapes
- Our guide, Martin, was very observant
- We really enjoyed the meals, both breakfast, lunch and dinner
- It was a great experience to camp “in the wild” in the middle of Serengeti
- They were so helpful on buying us drinks during safari
- One of us needed a SD-card, and the guide did everything he could to help us finding one

We would definitely recommend ISIA, thank you.

novadien2's picture
novadien2 05/23/2014

“Yes, we saw the BIG 5 + more!”

3 years ago

Hi Joao,

Sorry that took so long for me to respond on the safari experience
Me and my two other girlfriends had a fantastic time on the safari with ISIA back in April 2014.
Though, it was a rainy season but the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
04/13/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro

Hi Joao,

Sorry that took so long for me to respond on the safari experience
Me and my two other girlfriends had a fantastic time on the safari with ISIA back in April 2014.
Though, it was a rainy season but the the experience was remarkable!
We had blue skies and mystique-foggy scene at the same time, which were so fantastic for photographic captures!

The safari experience was a marvellous one!
From Tarangeri, Serengeti and Ngorongoro, including the Maasai Village visit.

Johnson as our guide is very professional, and most of all, focus on what we wanted to see (and yes, we saw the Big-Five!), even though we were kind of giving up to search the Rhino at the last day, but John kept insist to look for it!

One time, he pointed out on the hunting of 12 Simbas to a poor Impala from a distance and that was an exciting moment, especially our car was the only one there, after a while of course others followed:). Also, we had a chance to witnessed the killing of Zebra by female Lions and then followed by the crocodile who was waiting in the pond and out to enjoy the leftover. What a good-eye of John and what a fun game-driving!

The Ang'ata Luxury Camping is one of our favourite as we were outdoor surrounded by spectacular view of Serengeti. Next time, I wish to stay longer or at least one more night/day in Serengeti and Ngorongoro.

The guesthouse people are also were very nice and friendly. They made sure our stay was comfortable and feed us very good meal, from the funny Chef, Pascal! :)

Anyway, I can keep on and on about my wonderful experience, but in short ... yes, I want to express my BIG thank you to ISIA and all the staff for giving us good advise, guiding, patience and best service.' Terima kasih', or Asante Sana, in Bahasa Indonesia!

I linked some of my pics in dropbox to share with you... feel free to use them. Also, fyi, I will write an travel article about Tanzania and ISIA on my blog www.liburing.com , hopefully by end of this month or the latest mid July. I will share with you when I posted. Once again, I thank you all!

Cheers!
Nova

magde84's picture
magde84 05/22/2014

“Magical Place”

3 years ago

The safari could not be more perfect. It was such a magical place and I will never forget all the memories and feelings I had while driving in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro. I managed to see the big5, including a lion hunting and...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/10/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro

The safari could not be more perfect. It was such a magical place and I will never forget all the memories and feelings I had while driving in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro. I managed to see the big5, including a lion hunting and killing a Zebra, while in the Serengeti. Saw several leopards in trees. Saw cheetahs with their cubs (18 in total), crocodiles, many hippos and big herds of elephants. Ngorongoro Crater is a true wonder of the Earth. The safari was awesome. Thanks so much Baraja, Joao and Loy.

joycoutinho's picture
joycoutinho 05/20/2014

“Great experience”

3 years ago

I have done a Safari with It Started in África and loved it. Me and my husband wanted to do a 7 day Safari in serengeti and ngorongoro crater and then go to zanzibar. Everything went perfect since our guide and cook picked us from...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/04/2013
Length of safari: 
15 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Manyara, Serengeti

I have done a Safari with It Started in África and loved it. Me and my husband wanted to do a 7 day Safari in serengeti and ngorongoro crater and then go to zanzibar. Everything went perfect since our guide and cook picked us from our hotel in arusha. We did 1 day at lake manyara, then 4 day at serengeti national park and finished at ngorongoro crater on our way back to arusha again. We stayed in tents all the 7 nights, and being my first time camping, i actually didnt felt bad at all. The tents were good, spacious and our sleeping bags confortable.
Our guide, Samuel, had lots of experience and he knew all the birds and other small animals. We really liked him, and we were very lucky because we had the chance to see the big five, which, as he told us, may not be very easy. And they also provided us with binoculars, which was very useful when you can only see an animal several meters away from you. We also did an extension to ndutu to watch the great migration. There we could actually watch animals more closely, and we had the chance to watch a herd of lionesses hunting a zebra.
The overall experience was great, we loved the safari, loved our guide. The company matched our expectations, which were very high, since it was the trip of our dreams. Joao was very helpfull, always helping us and answering our questions and doubts, and Baraja too. We would definitly come back with It Started In Africa.

Jackie78Moscovici's picture
Jackie78Moscovici 05/20/2014

“It was an amazing experience!”

3 years ago

It was an amazing experience! My first interaction with anyone from the company was with Loy and I couldn't have met a more welcoming and nicer man than him. I can't say enough nice things about him.

Our driver...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/22/2012
Length of safari: 
4 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
manyara, serengeti, ngorongoro

It was an amazing experience! My first interaction with anyone from the company was with Loy and I couldn't have met a more welcoming and nicer man than him. I can't say enough nice things about him.

Our driver Michael not only is one of the most patient people as he waited for us to see everything we wanted to see and never driving off too early, but he is incredibly skilled at being able to spot animals far away. For example, he was able to spot a leopard in a tree that no one else would've known was there but after he pointed out the leopard, we were all able to see it.

Our cook was also fabulous (and I'm a very hard person to feed because there are so many foods I don't like) and he worked really hard at making our culinary experiences good. It Started In Africa truly gave us an amazing experience and a wonderful vacation. Thank you!

Rebecca.Fezekas's picture
Rebecca.Fezekas 05/14/2014

“Remarkable Experience”

3 years ago

We have returned from our 6 day/5 night safari and I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at It Started in Africa. It was a truly remarkable experience, one we will never forget! Everything was perfect and we looking forward to...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
12/14/2013
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
manyara, tarangire, serengeti, ngorongoro

We have returned from our 6 day/5 night safari and I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at It Started in Africa. It was a truly remarkable experience, one we will never forget! Everything was perfect and we looking forward to seeing you again and sending our friends your way :) Good luck and take care!

mrscottjohnson76's picture
mrscottjohnson76 05/11/2014

“Perfect service and tour”

3 years ago

After several safaris in Africa, I can say that Serengeti is the most incredible park I've ever visited. Easily! It Started in Africa were the ones responsible for making our visit to this park unforgettable and their service was...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/02/2014
Length of safari: 
5 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Serengeti

After several safaris in Africa, I can say that Serengeti is the most incredible park I've ever visited. Easily! It Started in Africa were the ones responsible for making our visit to this park unforgettable and their service was absolutely top notch. I have nothing to complain about. They were always interested in what they could do to make our trip more enjoyable. Chris (the guide) was funny and new so many little stories and curiosities about each animal or bird.

katymay12580's picture
katymay12580 05/08/2014

“Honeymoon Safari”

3 years ago

My Husband and I also used It Started In Africa and our guide was Thobias. It was the most amazing experience of our lives. The service was incredible. At the end of our safari before heading to Zanzibar i broke my camera and was...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/02/2012
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro

My Husband and I also used It Started In Africa and our guide was Thobias. It was the most amazing experience of our lives. The service was incredible. At the end of our safari before heading to Zanzibar i broke my camera and was devastated BUT It Started In Africa came to the rescue and lent me one of their cameras to take with me to the island of Zanzibar. It was very gracious and generous on their part. Our chef was fantastic and the food was beyond my expectations. If you have any questions or would like to see some pics just message me!

noyoudont's picture
noyoudont 05/05/2014

“Dream come true”

3 years ago

It is hard to start with such a grateful review, but as soon as i close my eyes and think about everything, since the guys picked us up, until the moment -the very sad moment- when we say goodbye at the Arusha hotel, I remember how...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
03/17/2012
Length of safari: 
6 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro

It is hard to start with such a grateful review, but as soon as i close my eyes and think about everything, since the guys picked us up, until the moment -the very sad moment- when we say goodbye at the Arusha hotel, I remember how amazing, perfect, well organized and simply unforgettable was this experience. Because, for us, it was more, much much more than just a safari. The places we've been, the things we've seen, and more important, the people we've met - and by this I of course mean Isaac, Eliudi, Mandi, Loy, (and João, even when we haven't actually met) - made a lifetime memory of this trip to us. Specially since we had the biggest expectation about this, cause of the time we needed, the money we spent, and the long distance from home.

But from the very first moment, to the last one, this guys gave everything, EVERYTHING, in order to make us feel like royalty. And how much we learned with Isaac, who easily could be a teacher, showing during the whole trip that he is more, way way much more than just a driver. Or the soup that Mandy made, the very best that we both have ever tried. And everything was like a fairy tale, where even the weather (which i assume you don't control) couldn't be better.

We saw every single animal, even the hard ones, that one can't expect to see. A lot of times each. The pictures were amazing, and every single person that saw them, told us that it must been the most unbelievable trip in the history. And they committed no mistake...

I am a very very lucky person who has been traveling around the world for the last ten years. Europe, America, Asia, Oceania... and now Africa. I've been to Africa a year ago as well, but just South Africa. And I can say that never, never, in the tons of excursions and day trips I took, I've met such an experienced, will to teach, and good person as Isaac and his crew.

We also want to express how considered he was while being in the parks, letting us take all the pictures that we wanted, and never saying no to anything, just helping, teaching and having a big smile on his face, always ready and prepared for us, for make us feel -again- like we rule the parks!!!

I would also like to let you know that, the schedule of the safari, was just perfect. How much time per park, or how long to stay there, was just the time we needed. not more, not less. And Loy, at the office, did his part, and was always ready to help us, and he did, and literally save our lives when he could change our flight tickets to Zanzibar, paying with his own money for the charge.

So I think that you cannot be more proud about the people that you have on this firm. AGAIN, AND AGAIN, AND FOR EVER... THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!

omicron.lmi's picture
omicron.lmi 03/12/2014

“Disappointment started with this company”

3 years ago

We have selected our travel agents so carefully and were hugely disappointed by this company. It has a beautiful website and emails are promptly answered by some Joao Oliveiro on a perfect English unlike others. And he lured us into...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/22/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Days

We have selected our travel agents so carefully and were hugely disappointed by this company. It has a beautiful website and emails are promptly answered by some Joao Oliveiro on a perfect English unlike others. And he lured us into this with fairly high expectations. We paid for classical 4 day, 3 nights safari 920 dollars. The 25% deposit was requested and we had to paid their bank fees, too.

I have read these reviews and we agreed to a HIGHER prices, hoping to get excellent services.

1) The car was Land Cruiser, as promised. But very old. It would take two-three times to turn key before it started. On night 2, our driver went off to local village to 'check' if all is ok, but in reality, we knew that we have problems getting the car started.

2) We were promised: "pair of High End very expensive big Nikon Binoculars that will dramatically enhance your experience (really!)" We asked about binoculars when we left and driver said 'give me 10 min' and started calling smb. We stopped by some place, another car pulled up and we had 3 binoculars. But NIKON was def not true. THey were cheap, dusty and one was made in Belarus. Not Nikon high-end at all. And we wouldn't have them either, unless we asked explicitly BEFORE leaving Arusha.

3) We were promised: Another thing is the yummy food we provide (all our cooks have attended tourism cooking school in Arusha). In reality, first night we had very hard chewy beef, second night, we had a lodge-provided restaurant, so cook was free. Third night we arrive to Ngorongoro before 17hrs and most tourists were not there yet. Dinner was promised at 1930. We got it at 20:10, when MOST of later-arrived tourists have already finished their meals. And it was so unpleasant....entire big canteen is full of people eating. We are sitting. And our tourguide is nowhere at site (fixing car!). Food was so late, and we were so tired and upset!

4) Next promise from Joao's letter: "And of course, our guides, which are our real stars and the ones who can make the difference between a nice trip and a once in a lifetime journey. We make sure we have the best, most cheerful, easygoing and knowledgeable guides by reinforcing a very careful recruitment process." This is the biggest lie and disappointment. After all, dinner is only 1-2 hours. But having incompetent tour guide (after amazing one at Kilimanjaro climbing!) for FOUR FULL DAYS was very frustrating. First, he barely smiled. Second, he barely talked! He was quiet, and only once in a while, he would point to smth and say smth. Short and concise. Nothing 'starry' or even friendly. We did not learn anything except that we saw animals. But great tour guides can tell you about wildlife, about habits of animals, trees, anything surrounding! This guide, Johnson, was not the one. We really got upset specifically about this point. Good tour guide could have saved the trips impression! But...no. Johnson was quiet and I got more info from my mom's text messages, while she was searching from home for info on her Ipad and sent us some cool facts about crater etc.

When we arrived to the office, the personnel did not have a computer, so they couldn't show us what we agreed on. We asked for Joao, turned out that guy sits in Portugal and writes his emails from there. He is NOT there to answer your questions. Older local guy spoke poor English and asked me to show what we agreed on, as he has NO printed anything. Then, we asked for a contracts (or voucher as they call it), but it was also a surprise! They just wanted us to pay them the balance (2100USD) without any receipt.

Another inconvenience is that luggage area was full of their stuff and we also had a cooler and a gas between our seats, so standing up was not convenient on day 2. There was no room to stand up and look out of the roof. Our personal bags were on a back seat and kept falling. I have no idea how this was done by others, but no other car had this problem. And other cars looked SIGNIFICANLY newer and better. (e.g. I truly envied Leopard tours cars).

Everyone we met said we have overpaid for 3 nights (2 camps, 1 upgraded to Ikoma bushcamp). For up to 200-300USD. We disregarded as expected "premium safari at lower cost" and it turned out to be a poorly organized safari at high cost.

Btw, the cook was stinking with sweat, that way back in one car with him was pure torture. Cruel and unusual punishment!

PS. We also had to ask them to give us water, as they never seemed to give it themselves. And then we had to stop by the shop and they ran and bought it). I think for that price, they could have anticipated 2 liters of water per person. Isn't it normal as food and drinks are included in the price?

I do not know what BBC is doing with this company, but I was so hugely disappointed that I wrote this extensive email. If you are looking for a company, please do not fall for pretty pictures. Go with somebody else, Zara, Jocky, plenty of companies. They are all the same, but cheaper. And you will def get better service, as this services couldn't be rated anything, but poor.