E-Trip Africa

Overall rating: 

E-Trip Africa is a division of the Worldwide Travel Group LLC, a registered and licensed Tour Operator based in the United States. The company offers a wide variety of Treks and Safaris in East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda & Rwanda), which are managed by the company’s operations offices located in each country.

Through personal attention, the team of travel professionals strives to give every client their ideal “trip of a lifetime”. The experience of the team is unrivaled and their knowledge is in depth having personally visited each and every camp, lodge, hotel, and activity they offer. With operations being managed locally by a senior director of the company, you can be assured that no detail will be missed.

hansenpurplelady_24806's picture
hansenpurplelad... 10/10/2017

“Turning a Dream into a Reality”

1 week ago

Working with e-Trip Africa could not have been easier. From the quick response to our first email until the last goodbye, everything was seamless. I was stunned when after several emails, Ben Jennings asked to set a time to call me...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/20/2017
Length of safari: 
10 Days
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Seronera Serengeti, Kogatend Serengeti

Working with e-Trip Africa could not have been easier. From the quick response to our first email until the last goodbye, everything was seamless. I was stunned when after several emails, Ben Jennings asked to set a time to call me to better help plan our safari. Ben was kind, patient, and informative as he listened to and answered my unending questions. His response to emails was timely. If he was busy and unable to respond completely, Ben would sometimes send a quick note informing me of when I should expect to hear from him. He wanted to know our expectations.

I was never pushed to alter our budget. Yes, we spent more than the original budget, but this was due to our desire to meet our expectations. Well into the planning of our trip, we decided to add the hot-air balloon ride. At Ben's suggestion, we added returning to Arusha from the northern Serengeti by plane and we were so happy to have listened to him.

Ben took the time to be at the airport with David, our driver/guide, upon our arrival. He demonstrated a true desire to make everything flawless.

We were fortunate to spend our 10 days with the fun, smart, kind, witty, eagle-eyed David. It would be impossible to have a better guide. David was a patient teacher. As he learned we were interested in all the birds, animals, trees, and flowers... David always took the time to explain and point out everything. He would turn off the engine of our land rover to explain the behavior of an animal and tell us why he wanted us to sit and wait. He never drove away without asking if we were ready and had finished taking the pictures we had wanted. His wealth of knowledge was amazing. He wanted us to know about the country and the culture of the people, enhancing our trip in every way.

We were happy with all our accommodations: Tarangire Safari Lodge, Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge, Nieleze (in the Seronera Serengeti), and Mara Under Canvas (Kogatende Serengeti). The accommadations were good at each as were the staff who cared for us and the food. Actually, the food was more than anyone could eat.

Yes! We saw the 'big 5', but we saw so much more. I kept a list and have the names of 78 animals and birds on it. We never dreamed we would see so much. The weather was perfect and the only thing that made the trip difficult at times were the bumpy roads. We were in an immaculate, new vehicle. Our land rover could not have been better, but the roads... well, let's be serious they are dirt roads that are rutted from other vehicles and the rain in rainy season. Such is life...

There was one poor experience to our trip... the moment when we had to say goodbye to David, our teacher and friend.

jhubbel_5158's picture
jhubbel_5158 03/18/2015

“A tale of three Countries ”

2 years ago

ETrip Africa once again set up a wondrous itinerary for a solo athletic traveler in her early sixties, which offered a superb smorgasbord of adventure, sights, village visits, cultural exploration and pure adrenalin. That would...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/17/2015
Length of safari: 
4 Weeks
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Bwindi and a few others I can't spell in Uganda

ETrip Africa once again set up a wondrous itinerary for a solo athletic traveler in her early sixties, which offered a superb smorgasbord of adventure, sights, village visits, cultural exploration and pure adrenalin. That would include Class V rapids on the Nile, gorilla trekking, chimp trekking, long gorgeous drives through Rwanda and Uganda, the reasonable tent facilities as requested to meet my budget needs and my preference to greet the morning through tent flaps, and a nice hotel thrown in to wash the spiders out of my coconut.

I went back to do a longer camel safari in Tanzania which was fun but I won't be in TZ again in February, that was just too hot, but it was great fun. If you do this DO NOT expect amenities, expect real African adventure and conditions, and that's what makes it authentic and real.

Ben and Aurelie are highly responsive, great listeners, quick to shift and change if they need to accommodate, and they love it when you come back happy. I'm already thinking about the next Africa trip and ETrip will be doing it for me. They are the best- they take care of every single tiny detail, their guides are the best. Alex Guma, my Ugandan guide, did yeoman's work to get me rescheduled when an illness sidelined me for the day I was to go gorilla trekking. If not for his help I'd have missed out. Their guides are the best, and they are great company on those long drives cross country. I can't recommend this company more highly.

For me, the food is a non issue. I'm happy with a carton of yogurt and a piece of pineapple.

tebockho_4565's picture
tebockho_4565 01/13/2015

“Hard to believe it all happened”

2 years ago

The bottom line: this is a glowing review of a longer than average trip (38 days) that was thoughtfully planned, meticulously arranged, and expertly executed. I have attempted to write the review I wanted to read when I was...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/09/2014
Length of safari: 
38 Days
Safari destinations: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Masai Mara, Lake Naivasha, Lake Nakuru, Amboseli, Kilimanjaro hike, Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Kibale, Queen Elizabeth, Bwindi, Jinja, Zanzibar, Mafia

The bottom line: this is a glowing review of a longer than average trip (38 days) that was thoughtfully planned, meticulously arranged, and expertly executed. I have attempted to write the review I wanted to read when I was researching this. That is, one that contains information allowing me to relate our situation and desires to the experience of the reviewer so that we could make an educated decision. I’ve tried to break it into separate digestible pieces, so you can skip around to our thoughts on the company itself, our experience, our situation, etc. as you like. The information below was gathered from tour operators (this company and others), guides, lodge employees, local residents, and fellow travelers.
About us:
My fiancé and I are both 30-something, fairly active professionals (students until quite recently) who were lucky enough to get time away from work for a long trip. We enjoy outdoor pursuits, good food, and wildlife and are comfortable with a range of levels of luxury (i.e. camping to five stars). We are relatively well traveled and started out thinking that we would do much of this on our own. After a good amount of research we eventually concluded that doing East Africa on our own would likely lead to an inferior trip at a higher cost in terms of both time and money. That was absolutely the right conclusion in retrospect. We were after experiences rather than pampered luxury. We would prefer comfortable camping in the middle of the national park to the posh luxury lodge isolated from its surroundings by walls, fences, etc. As it turns out, you can’t stay in the middle of many of the national parks in East Africa without stepping up to some (rather high) level of luxury so we ended up staying in fairly nice places that were well worth the experience. We wanted a private journey, just us and a driver/guide. We weren’t sure we could afford it, but in retrospect it was well worth the relatively small additional cost. If we had a couple of friends that we knew well, it would have been OK to have them along, but I wouldn’t have wanted to spend hours on safari with strangers who have different interests and priorities. It’s just not the same trip. In very broad strokes, I would describe us as relaxed but discerning travelers.
Our trip:
A very brief version of our itinerary:
Kenya - Masai Mara, Lake Naivasha, Lake Nakuru, Amboseli
Tanzania – Kilimanjaro hike, Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti
Uganda – Kibale, Queen Elizabeth, Bwindi, Jinja
Zanzibar, Mafia islands
What stood out most to us about the logistics of our trip was the incredible amount of research that went into planning it. They had quite obviously been to every place they sent us, and had a discerning eye for the variables which would make the experience pleasant. It wasn’t just that they placed us at a comfortable place near to what we came to see or do. It was that they placed us at the comfortable place with the English speaking manager and the good food and nice rooms in quiet and beautiful surroundings that was near what we had come for. The level of thought and consideration for what the trip would actually be like as a whole was very impressive. Other companies who sold “customized” journeys seemed to be selling some combination of modular experiences. Something along the lines of: “combine the Tarangire module with the Ngorongoro module and the Serengeti module” where each module is a self-contained unit of a specific lodge and experience. Not so with E-trip. They listened to what we wanted, asked questions to clarify, and then gave us experiences and lodging that suited us. We weren’t tied to something simply because the tour company had pre-arranged itineraries or agreements with particular places. It was a truly customized journey, designed for us by people who took the time understand what we valued. I think much of this is a product of the fact that they live in Tanzania and are very plugged into the culture and economics of the area.
After the planning was all done and we started our trip, I had expected that there would be bumps in the road. It seemed impossible to me that we could spend nearly 40 days traveling by car, boat, and plane across three countries and countless language and cultural barriers without something getting dropped somewhere along the line. Nope, it was all to plan without a hitch. I’m still dumb founded by it. As an example, it was day 30 something of the trip and we had driven from the east coast to the west coast of Zanzibar to take a tour of Stone Town before our flight out to Mafia. The detailed itinerary we were given more than four weeks prior said there would be a driver to take us to the airport at noon. After we met up with our tour guide and walked around Stone Town for a few hours, we returned to where we had met our guide to find a driver whom we had never met waiting for us. We hadn’t called him, our guide hadn’t called him, he was just there. It’s quite likely that he had received at least one phone call from E-trip in the day or so preceding our arranged meet, but at the time it seemed like logistical wizardry. Thirty something days into a trip and the guy is just sitting there waiting for us 10 minutes before we were supposed to be there. What’s more is we had come to expect this kind of treatment. It’s hard to overstate the value of being able to relax into the journey knowing that someone skillful has taken care of every little detail and you really don’t have to spend one second of your time in Africa thinking about how to get things done. Looking back at the itinerary, the driver’s phone number was on our itinerary along with phone numbers for every lodge, driver, etc. during the trip just in case, but we never needed them. That’s how well it was planned. I think it would be extremely difficult to plan a 40 day journey around my home town without something going wrong, and these guys did it across three countries in Africa which speaks volumes about how tight of a ship they run.
The company –
They are run by a husband and wife team (American and French ex-pats) who live in Tanzania with their young son and are intimately involved in making sure things go well. They both have a long history of trying to make this world a better place and of doing so in Africa specifically (peace corps, etc.). As a result, they are very knowledgeable about the geographic, social, and political climate in the areas they work. This sets them apart from the vast majority of other companies who will tell you that they operate locally, but in actuality they charge you what they will, take their cut, and then outsource your trip to somebody on the ground in Africa. The locally owned companies we came across seemed to do OK, but it’s not the same as someone who understands western culture but lives the day to day in Africa. There just isn’t a substitute for that combination. If you have a problem, and somebody has to call somebody on another continent to try to fix it, it’s not likely to go as well as if you hop on the cell phone provided to you at the start of the trip and call the owner of the company.
It has been my experience in the past, that people who have a heart and strive to lift the world around them are not necessarily the most business savvy. That is absolutely not the case with these two. They are quite business savvy; they understand the expectations of western tourists, and embrace the accountability which that requires. They do business in an incredibly responsible and transparent manner which allows you to make value judgments about your experience ahead of time and to feel as though you’ve contributed to making things better in Africa afterward. It became clear when we were researching that companies charge a premium for the service of arranging a trip for you (which is reasonable), but will not detail the costs associated with that service or even the individual portions of the trip like the price of a particular lodge. That makes it very difficult to make value judgments about what things are really worth to you. These guys took the time to answer our emails thoughtfully, to discuss things over the phone in great detail (via skype), and to get an idea of what we wanted not just what we were asking for. At each step they told us what each individual thing would cost so we could talk about what things we really valued. In addition, they don’t own or operate any lodges of their own, so they don’t have any conflicts of interest when it comes to picking a place for you to stay. This is a big deal and one many companies aren’t necessarily forthcoming about.
In the end, the level of research and effort that went into constructing our customized trip was clearly so far beyond the 40 or so other companies that I communicated with, at a lower and transparent cost, that the choice became obvious. I even spoke with a few tour operators who wondered aloud how it was possible to arrange the trip we took at the price we paid – they simply couldn’t do it. Suffice it to say that I think you would be foolish not to at least call/email them to see what they can do for you. Do it and you will see what I mean.

b.loyd's picture
b.loyd 07/13/2014

“A 29 day East Africa Adventure”

3 years ago

I was really fortunate to come across Aurelie from E-Trip Africa, who organized a once in a lifetime 29 day tour throughout East Africa. I started organizing the trip on my own with my trusty Lonely Planet. It did not take long...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/04/2014
Length of safari: 
29 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
bwindi, kibale, queen elizabeth, nungwi, serengeti, ngorongoro, tarangire

I was really fortunate to come across Aurelie from E-Trip Africa, who organized a once in a lifetime 29 day tour throughout East Africa. I started organizing the trip on my own with my trusty Lonely Planet. It did not take long before I realized this was beyond all my travel experience to Europe and South America.
While Africa might not be all that more complicated, the lack of current information leaves you turning in circles. So after I was completely frustrated, I contacted 7 different companies to see what they could offer. Most of them seemed to only know about one country or another and it quickly became clear they were going to pass me off to some other unknown person once I crossed the border. I even had a good laugh when one gave me only part of my tour request and that the other countries would be added 4 or 5 days later. Hmmmm.
There were two that clearly had on the ground staff in the countries we wanted to visit. Each proposed an incredible proposal to fill the 29 days, but the prices were far from similar. I worked with Aurelie a lot to modify the trip to be exactly what I wanted, as her initial suggestions were much closer to what we had requested. In the end I then also asked the other company to give me the price of the same trip so I could have an idea. E-Trip Africa’s price was nearly $250 per day cheaper, which was enough to decide to book with them even though they are a lesser known company than the other.
We started our trip in Uganda and drove from Entebbe to Kibale where we spent a full day with the Chimps. This was one of many suggestions that Aurelie had given me and it was worth paying a little extra for the experience. Then we headed to Queen Elizabeth and had a fantastic visit to the park. The boat cruise is another very memorable experience.
After that we drove to Buhoma and spent a night there at the beautiful Mahogany Springs before hiking through Bwindi to the south side of the park. This hike was a nice way to meet local people and learn a bit more about their everyday lives. From the South part we tracked the Nshongi family. Spending that time in nature with the mountain gorillas is the most magical thing that I have experienced. From here we slowly worked our way to Rwanda, visiting several of the lakes between Bwindi and Lake Kivu. We spent 3 days resting at Lake Kivu before going to Nungwe Forest. The forest was very nice with a nice canopy walk. We then went to Kigali to visit the genocide memorials. Now Kigali is quite a modern city to my surprise and seemed to be very safe.
From here we flew on a small plane straight into the Northern Serengeti and then worked our way south to catch the migration on its way North. While it is not as emotionally intense as the gorilla encounter, the migration is also an amazing experience.
We finished up the safari through Ngorongoro, Lake Manyara, and then Tarangire before heading to Mafia Island to do some diving. We had thought about Zanizbar, but Aurelie suggested Mafia to avoid crowds, and again she picked the perfect location.
Everything went surprisingly smooth. E-Trip Africa provided us with excellent guides that have a passion for wildlife and sharing their countries with those who visit. Even though our budget was for mid-range, the hotels were carefully recommended by E-Trip Africa to provide us with the best value, allowing us to upgrade our stay in Mafia.

wayne.t's picture
wayne.t 06/19/2014

“Perfect Honeymoon”

3 years ago

My wife and I enjoyed a very special honeymoon through Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengetti, Ngorongoro crater and then to Fanjove Private Island. Our guide Amiri was fantastic. I was not so keen on a honeymoon with a guide around...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
06/02/2014
Length of safari: 
13 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Fanjove Island

My wife and I enjoyed a very special honeymoon through Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengetti, Ngorongoro crater and then to Fanjove Private Island. Our guide Amiri was fantastic. I was not so keen on a honeymoon with a guide around 24/7. But it was actually perfect. He was calm and relaxed and knew exactly when we wanted to have some time to ourselves. He even set up a nice bush lunch under an Acacia, with wine and all. It was quite romantic and even though he was nearby watching for any dangerous animals, we felt completely alone.

E-Trip Africa came highly recommended from by wife’s sister who was in Peace Corps with Ben, who is the manager of E-Trip. So we felt we could leave it in his hands. And that we did. We spoke to him for about 30 minutes back in January to tell him what we imagined for a safari and what we like and don’t like. From here E-Trip organized everything with my best man, Jon. They really gave us an amazing experience, which also included a private balloon safari over the great migration and a private flight to and from Fanjove Island, where we had the island to ourselves.

After the trip I felt like my family had gone overboard with what they spent and I asked Jon about the budget. He only gave me a ball-park figure, which in the end it was only about half of what I had expected, so if you are looking to get good value you know where to go. This was a perfect honeymoon, one that we will remember and tell our kids about.

nick.smith4711's picture
nick.smith4711 06/09/2014

“50 and Alive”

3 years ago

For my 50th birthday, I wanted to do something very special. I had never done anything big and I realized it was now or never. Well there is nothing bigger than Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa. Little did I imagine how life-changing a...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
02/11/2014
Length of safari: 
9 Days
Safari destinations: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimanjaro National Park

For my 50th birthday, I wanted to do something very special. I had never done anything big and I realized it was now or never. Well there is nothing bigger than Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa. Little did I imagine how life-changing a trip up Mount Kilimanjaro could be. After tons of research, I cautiously chose E-Trip Africa to run my trek. You are putting your life into someone else’s hands, so this is quite a big decision. I could not have been more pleased with this outfit, from the beginning to end! The staff is unbelievably professional, friendly & knowledgeable. It does not take long to see that they have had very good training from plants on the trail to safety. The crew quickly became family, as these guys are not only professional but honest hard working people that are warm and kind. I was beyond surprised at how good the food was. I mean there are no roads to drive that stuff up the mountain, so everything has been carried by hand. Davis the guide has over 10 years as a guide, not counting when he was a porter and assistant guide. I was told by E-Trip that Davis recently placed first in a Mountain First Aid course, getting the highest marks in the class. There was no doubt in my mind that this was true, as he was even giving medical advice to another company that had a sick person in their group. As a 50 year old, I did not really focus on the summit, but on having a great experience, as I figured there was not much chance I would make it all the way up. I chose the Lemosho route over 9 days, to have plenty of time on this beautiful mountain. In the end, I had a great life-changing journey and also was successful on my summit night, thanks to an exceptional crew. On a side note, I was really touched by the work that E-Trip Africa is doing with the Mailisita Foundation, in providing education to disadvantaged youth in the Moshi area. I am glad to know that they work to give back in a very concrete and measurable way. I plan to return to the school soon, to volunteer to teach computer classes to the kids.

Juan.Carlos.Martinez1950's picture
Juan.Carlos.Mar... 03/18/2014

“The Full East African Experience”

3 years ago

Since I was a child, I had dreamt of traveling to Africa. But life passes and those dreams fade. On my 50th birthday, I realized that life was passing quickly and I was missing out, which was my reminder of my dreams of African...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
10/06/2013
Length of safari: 
43 Days
Wildlife parks visited: 
Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Ruaha, Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Volcanoes

Since I was a child, I had dreamt of traveling to Africa. But life passes and those dreams fade. On my 50th birthday, I realized that life was passing quickly and I was missing out, which was my reminder of my dreams of African Elephants and the Snows of Kilimanjaro.

I happened to get the contact of E-Trip Africa by a chance encounter at business dinner. On first contact, they listened to what I had dreamt about. And after a few days they put together some options of tours that could work for me. Aurelie also gave me some other suggestions that I did not even know where possible.

Knowing that I am not getting younger, I also decided that Kilimanjaro was either now or never. So I ended going to East Africa for six weeks. I spent some of my trip with my wife and the trek with two old friends. What really amazed me was the ability for Aurelie to organize and manage our trip in three different countries. She had also visited every hotel and done each of the activities that she proposed to me. Now that is a dream job, if I have ever heard of one.

We started our trip with six days in Kenya. Many people told me to stay away from Kenya due to terrorism, but I felt completely safe, even in the massive city of Nairobi. The people were very nice and my guide Joseph is now like family. Masai Mara was very nice but crowded and on several occasions Joseph, as an Honorary Park Ranger, intervened to put some very disorderly Chinese in order. He even was picking up trash when he saw it. Joseph is a nice man that cares for the environment and wants to see a better future for his two children. We then went to Lake Nakuru and spent two great nights at Sleeping Warrior Lodge. The night game drives were very cool. And Joseph could always say what the animal was just by the color of it´s eyes in the spot light.

I then headed down to Tanzania and met Jorge and Carlas for our Kilimanjaro Trek. Our guide Casper really gave us a wonderful 8 days on the Lemosho Route. Even though there was some rain, I could not have asked for a better experience and the challenge to get to the top was fantastic. I am not in the best condition physically, but this was endurance and a challenge in your own mind.

After the trek I left my trekking friends to meet my wife in Mafia Island. This untouched island is a perfect place to relax and enjoy fantastic diving. Our hosts at Shamba Kilole were very friendly and prepared perfect food, but that can be expected from Italians. Five days was not enough and I hope to return one day.

We then flew to Ruaha National Park to enjoy again an untouched park that has few visitors. This park was very nice and the lions provided us several exciting moments. Unlike Kenya, we did not see another car for several hours and you could really have a nice feel of being in the wild of Africa.

Next we flew to the Northern Circuit. Tarangire, Lake Manyara and then into the Ngorongoro Crater, where the wildlife was only slightly denser than the tourists. This part of the trip was not so great. The crater is a must, but with all of the other tourists and even a few loud rundown vehicles really distracted from the experience. Also, Oldupai Musuem is a complete waste of time and money. Aurelie and our guide both talked it down, but did I listen?? Lesson learned and shared. The Serengeti however, was better as we only spent two days in the Seronera Area before heading to the North. Again, a perfect site at Sayari Camp, where there was the chance to get out and enjoy nature secluded from the masses. Four days here was perfect and we even got some great time close to a Rhino, not to mention some fantastic Wildebeest River Crossings.

Last on the list was Rwanda. Again, this was a welcome surprise. Most people are uneducated about the country. They only remember the war and genocide and assume it is still a war torn place. It is not. It is beautiful and very warm country. The smiling faces and friendly people were unlike the rest of our trip. People were helpful and not aggressive at all. Even in the touristy shops. Gorillas were fantastic and the trek was surprisingly easy both days. Also, the visit to see the rare Golden Monkey was worth the extra day in the area.

Rwanda is another place that I hope to return to one day. The country is booming and the people are quite different from their neighbors. I think that sums it up. A trip this long has so many great stories and not enough place to write them all.

abe.moland's picture
abe.moland 12/13/2013

“The Lemosho Route: An Amazing Journey!”

3 years ago

Embarking on a journey as daunting as Mt Kilimanjaro took a degree of level headedness in almost every stage, from choosing a travel company to gear selection to final summit night courage, but the reward of Uhuru Peak and the view...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/26/2013
Length of safari: 
8 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Kilimajaro National Park

Embarking on a journey as daunting as Mt Kilimanjaro took a degree of level headedness in almost every stage, from choosing a travel company to gear selection to final summit night courage, but the reward of Uhuru Peak and the view from the Roof of Africa makes every test more than worth it. The best piece of advice I could give anyone contemplating the climb is to have confidence in every decision you make let this carry you to the top!

The keys to building this confidence are gained by doing thorough groundwork before you reach Tanzania in the areas of physical conditioning, gear selection, and guide company selection. While I was going through this process I was interning in South Africa where I did not have a lot of time or the available resources to devote to training or finding the right gear, so in hindsight I learned that tour company selection is one of the most important choices you make, they end up being the glue that holds what training, gear, and confidence you have together and if you make the right choice they’ll help you make up for any area in which you’re lacking.

That being said, the company I choose was E-Trip Africa (http://www.etripafrica.com/mount_kilimanjaro) and I could not have been happier with my selection. From my timely pick-up and conversation with Ben at Kilimanjaro International to our thorough pre-trek team meeting, I had full confidence I would make it to the top. Our lead guide, Caspar, was heavily suave with experience and led us through a detailed examination of all our gear making sure we had was up to par, with a convenient rental company representative there to offer any needed supplies at a very reasonable rate.

As we set out along the Lemosho route my team of six trekkers quickly realized we would be rubbing elbows with several other groups as we had chosen a full moon hike (still definitely recommend this despite the crowds, they thin out closer to summit). This close proximity to other groups for the first few days allowed us to eye the other amenities offered by other companies and we quickly realized how lucky we were in comparison. Our “dining hall” tent (A.K.A. the Jack O’ Lantern) allowed us to enjoy our frequent warm beverages and near gourmet meals in protection from the elements, and our team consistently surged past on the trail, always pausing to say jambo, to have camp set up for us at the next site.

The unique dynamic energy that each and every member of our team brought to the journey became essential in trying times of fatigue, sickness, and hardship. Caspar quickly adapted to any unforeseen circumstances ranging from impromptu birthday celebrations to accommodating a team member who felt the affects of AMS. An important aspect I hadn’t thought about in a company was how well they are able to adapt to different fitness levels within a group, something that Caspar and his team did very well. Summit night he timed our ascent perfectly to watch the sunrise from Stella Point. Definitely recommend!

eclecticmk's picture
eclecticmk 12/10/2013

“Rongai Route Kilimanjaro”

3 years ago

I summited Mount Kilimanjaro via the Rongai Route in seven days in November 2013 as part of a charity climb. The trip was amazing. Our group contacted e-Trip Africa on the advice of another group that summited June 2013. From our...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
11/17/2013
Length of safari: 
7 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 

I summited Mount Kilimanjaro via the Rongai Route in seven days in November 2013 as part of a charity climb. The trip was amazing. Our group contacted e-Trip Africa on the advice of another group that summited June 2013. From our first contact with e-Trip Africa to our farewells from our climbing team at Marangu Gate, the entire experience was wonderful. Everyone we dealt with was professional and knowledgeable. We were uncertain at the start of the process on which route we would take and for what duration. e-Trip answered all our questions and gave us unbiased advice on the pros and cons of each route. They took the time to answer our million and one questions with patience and never once did I feel I was given a rushed answer. The climb team was superb and their professionalism helped give me the confidence that I needed to make it to the top. Climbing Kili is not for the weak of mind or body and finding the right partners are critical in my opinion. From our first meeting in Moshi with the head guide and his team I felt we were in good hands for the coming week. The food was great – there were two picky eaters in our group and neither one went away hungry from any meal. The camps were clean and orderly and the climb team made sure our experience was fun and safe. Ben Jennings worked with us before and after the climb and was a large part of us being successful. We are already talking about taking another group back in 2015 for charity, we will use e-Trip Africa again.

jhubbel's picture
jhubbel 12/09/2013

“Southern Circuit to the Roof of Africa ”

3 years ago

From the first time I spoke to Ben Jennings after a referral on Trip Advisor to the last discussion we had by phone shortly before I flew back to the United States, I was struck by how dedicated he was to ensuring that I got the...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
11/02/2013
Length of safari: 
22 Days
Wildlife parks visited: 
Selous Ruaha Kilimanjaro

From the first time I spoke to Ben Jennings after a referral on Trip Advisor to the last discussion we had by phone shortly before I flew back to the United States, I was struck by how dedicated he was to ensuring that I got the unique, exciting, remarkable adventure I was seeking. Ben was focused first on thoroughly understanding who I was and what I hoped to accomplish. As athlete in her early sixties, and someone who didn't want a traditional safari experience, I wanted to see Africa in a new way and also find ways to shave costs. Mission accomplish. At every turn Ben found ways to deliver unique experiences ( a camel safari, right up my alley) and a climb up Kili, with his crack team, which has been together for a number of years, which speaks to how happy they are as a team. From picking me up and ensuring I got where I needed to go at every turn, to even having his delightful wife join me on what was going to be a solo climb up Kili. Ben went above and beyond in terms of service and delivery of the Africa I truly hoped to experience. He couldn't deliver a summit (that I had to do on my own) but his team did ensure good food, great support, and the safety and security I need to get up and down as best I could. And with their expert help, I did. Their team really knows how to listen when you say I have a budget, but you also need to understand that the products in Africa cost a bunch. They find the right balance- and for my part, I got the intensely memorable, amazing, incredible trip that went well beyond any set of expectations I could have asked for. From the tented camps in the Selous and Ruaha to the quick stopovers in very nice hotels which proved to be such necessary rest points between long bush excursions, Ben's planning was perfect.

The proof is in the planning. I've already pinned Ben down for January of 2015. I will always use Ben going forward, they deliver.

bob.willard987's picture
bob.willard987 09/30/2013

“Short Tarangire & Ngorongoro Trip”

4 years ago

My partner and I recently returned from a conference in Arusha and had the opportunity to visit Tarangire National Park and Ngorongoro on a short trip organized by E-Trip Africa. Tarangire is a fabulous park - we saw numerous...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/12/2013
Length of safari: 
3 Days
Safari type: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Tarangire & Ngorongoro

My partner and I recently returned from a conference in Arusha and had the opportunity to visit Tarangire National Park and Ngorongoro on a short trip organized by E-Trip Africa. Tarangire is a fabulous park - we saw numerous elephant, 5 lions with 3 cubs, several herds of zebra, impala and wildebeest, and even a rare leopard on a "sausage tree"!

We then continued to Ngorongoro where we spent the night on the crater rim, so that we could get down to the floor early in the morning. The views are amazing and we had the most magical sunset. The crater was filled with animals. I wanted to see Rhinoceroses, which we saw 4 in the first few hours. Our driver was fabulous - his knowledge, experience and passion made the trip quite enjoyable!

I would love to return to spend more time here. Not sure if we will focus on the Serengeti or the Southern Parks on our next trip, or maybe both.

gavin6259's picture
gavin6259 09/15/2013

“The Great Migration”

4 years ago

For years I had dreams of an African Safari. In 2009 I started doing some research to plan the trip. I was put off a bit because the prices were so high. So I took an extra part-time job to save up the extra cash needed to make...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/16/2013
Length of safari: 
11 Days
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Samburu, Lake Nakuru, Hells Gate & Masai Mara

For years I had dreams of an African Safari. In 2009 I started doing some research to plan the trip. I was put off a bit because the prices were so high. So I took an extra part-time job to save up the extra cash needed to make it a perfect trip. Then in 2012 we started doing the research again and it took us a while to find the right company, we sent emails to some 50 safari companies we found on this site and on TripAdvisor. We told them the parks we wanted to see, the dates and our overall budget. In the end E-Trip Africa was able to organize the trip at luxury camps and still stay within our budget. Several of the companies told us we would have to settle for a camping budget trip, which surprised me. Others told us they could not do anything within our budget.

When we arrived at the Nairobi Airport it was a little crazy, because there was a fire. The manager, Ben drove from the office in Arusha to meet us and introduced us to our Masai Driver named Joseph. Joseph was wearing Massai cloths the whole trip. Not only did he share a lot about his culture, but he was very friendly and never left a dull moment during the long drives. Ben and Joseph took us back to the hotel, where we had a briefing about the trip and he gave us a local telephone to borrow, which saved us some money when calling the folks back in the states.

We set-off the next morning and Joseph gave us plenty of good information during the long drive to Samburu. Driving past Mt. Kenya was amazing and then it was very dry in Samburu. The wildlife was nice as it was the first time to see Elephants outside of a zoo. We spent two nights there before heading to Lake Elementaita and Lake Naivasha. The Rhinos were so cool and I can't imagine people are killing them left and right to sell the horns to China. We stopped in Hells Gate to take a bike ride, which was nice as we had been spending too much time sitting in the car.

Then we went to the home area of Joseph. The Masai Mara... It was perfect to see the millions of wildebeest. Joseph had a very good sense of the wildlife and he could tell us what they would do. You can tell he really enjoys spending the time watching the animals. Twice I was a bit confused, because there were lots of cars around a kill and Joseph drove and parked about 300 feet away. Then all of the sudden the Lions got up and walked down to the water and shade near us, we had the best seat in the house.

The first two days we did not see any Cheetah. I was a bit down as I wanted to see them. I now understand that they don't like to be around all these other animals. So Joseph took us on a two hour drive to the middle of no where. And then all of the sudden he said look. We were alone, not another car in site. He said look very closely and there was a cheetah walking towards us. We sat for a few hours watching him. Then all of the sudden it bolted towards a small group of antelope taking one down. It was just like on Discovery.

The next day we headed back to Nairobi where we met Ben another time. He was really excited to hear our stories and Joseph was telling them even better than anyone. You could sense that Ben and Joseph also have a very good personal relationship. The next morning we were back to Nairobi Airport and then on our flight. A special thanks to Ben, Aurelie and the rest of the team at E-Trip Africa for organizing the trip. And an enormous thank to Joseph, who I now think of as my Massai brother.