The African Touch

Overall rating: 

Kenyan-born Karoma is a trained guide who has shared his continent with hundreds of travellers for over 20 years, while his Kiwi wife Tasha has worked with him since 2002.

With their experience as overland guides and Karoma’s intimate knowledge of Africa’s geography and cultures, they make an unbeatable team.

If you’ve dreamed of enjoying the wonders African tour & travel guides Karoma and Tasha of Africa, but don’t have the confidence or courage to undertake the adventure on your own, then The African Touch is for you.

The African Touch caters for all ages, including the mature traveler, and gives travellers the opportunity to enjoy Africa without having to stay in luxury lodges. Until now only young travellers who are prepared to ‘rough it’ have been able to fully experience the excitement, magic and beauty of this stunning country. The African Touch enables you to experience the real Africa in a fun, safe and memorable way.

kayejackson_4197's picture
kayejackson_4197 10/26/2014

“A MUST - DON'T DELAY - BOOK NOW ”

2 years ago

Tour met at Uganda and we were right into it, visiting the Chimps on Ngamba Island, White Water Rafting - so exciting- at Jinja - then looking at Hippos & crocodiles on Lake Baringo. Then Nakura N.P., Crescent Island and Masai...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/19/2014
Length of safari: 
28 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
NAKURU, NAIVASHA, MASAI MARA,NGORONGORO CRATER

Tour met at Uganda and we were right into it, visiting the Chimps on Ngamba Island, White Water Rafting - so exciting- at Jinja - then looking at Hippos & crocodiles on Lake Baringo. Then Nakura N.P., Crescent Island and Masai Mara parks - elephants, wildebeest, giraffes, wart hogs, lions, cheetah, hippos, zebras, mongoose, baboons, ostrich, rhino, pink flamingos, and many many more. Not to mention village walks, boat trip, school visits, and Hot Air Ballooning, followed by a champagne breakfast.
Visiting Stonetown and spice plantations in Zanzibar, lolling on wonderful beaches and golden sands - visiting an elephant orphanage, and giraffe park, museums, bead factory, and street markets.
Every day was filled with excitement. Not once were we disappointed.
African Touch- Tasha and Karoma have done a wonderful job. Right from the first enquiry Tasha filled me in on how much money I would need and what for, what clothing to take and what to expect. The trip started with the first day learning how to put up a tent, and take it down - in no time all of us had our tents up within 10 minutes - or down - with the friendly help of Karoma,Tony and Niko. Amos and his cooking - what can I say - other than everyone wanted to bring him home. Every meal was amazing, Tony's soups each night - to die for.
Karoma's knowledge of Africa outstanding, he was helpful, very interesting, ran a very well organised truck. After dinner each night, Karoma filled us in on what to expect next day, and delighted us with his stories.
Tent life was fun - a couple of nights it rained,but we didn't get wet. The mattresses were great, plenty of room in the tent, but it was fun to sleep in a real bed 6 nights of the tour. It was a wonderful tour, Karoma, Amos,Tony and Niko were always smiling, and nothing was too much trouble.
What could be improved - nothing as far as African Touch went - just the pot holes in the road - wow!!!!!!!!
Kaye - aged 67 - travelled by myself

judedrew1958_4160's picture
judedrew1958_4160 10/20/2014

“Truly Amazing”

2 years ago

When I signed up for The African Touch East Africa Safari I was filled with excitement and some trepadation being a women traveling on my own. Not to worry, I felt safe and well looked after throughout the whole trip. I was hopeing...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/09/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Weeks
Circumstances: 

When I signed up for The African Touch East Africa Safari I was filled with excitement and some trepadation being a women traveling on my own. Not to worry, I felt safe and well looked after throughout the whole trip. I was hopeing for a grass roots experience of Africa and Karoma and his team delivered in spades. Not only did I get to see the wildlife of Africa up close and personal, but also got to interact with the beautiful people, visited villages, tribes and markets and a school and orphanage. With Karomas first hand knowledge of the country, years of experience and his endless patience at my and my travelling companions many questions I learnt so much about the 'real'Africa. With three delicious meals catered every day and comfortable secure accommadation every night it was truly an amazing adventure to be remembered forever. Thank you Karoma and your hardworking team for helping to make my dreams of Africa come true!
Judy

queenindiana's picture
queenindiana 10/13/2014

“"WHAT A TRIP!"”

2 years ago

Visiting Africa was well out of our comfort zone. We had doubts, concerns, fears and uncertainty. All of which were unfounded! This trip can be undertaken with confidence by anyone. We experienced more than we anticipated and came...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/06/2014
Length of safari: 
30 Days
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 

Visiting Africa was well out of our comfort zone. We had doubts, concerns, fears and uncertainty. All of which were unfounded! This trip can be undertaken with confidence by anyone. We experienced more than we anticipated and came home feeling we had gained a new perspective on a part of the world that is rarely seen. We were well looked after but not smothered, and Karoma provided a level of care that was both necessary and appreciated. The tour itself had exactly the right mix of busy days interspersed with more relaxed travel, and the mix of culture and animals was just perfect. Having a company that caters for the more mature traveller was a bonus - we were all on the same page and the days activities were well within the range of everyone. Travelling in the specially constructed truck was comfortable and allowed for premium animal viewing, and the motel accommodation provided each night was clean and appropriate. The staff travelling with us were professional, friendly, accommodating and were a bonus to an already fantastic trip.
We felt we got great value for money and would not hesitate to recommend The African Touch to anyone wanting a remarkable adventure.

w.e.skiffington's picture
w.e.skiffington 10/13/2014

“Our Africia.”

2 years ago

I have just read the reviews of Falconer & BV Moran who have only recently returned from their trips with Tash & Karoma of The African Touch.

I can completely agree with everything they have said, even though its...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
09/22/2012
Length of safari: 
28 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Nakuru, Masi Mara, Crescent Island game Reserve, Lake Naivasha, Ngorongoro Crater

I have just read the reviews of Falconer & BV Moran who have only recently returned from their trips with Tash & Karoma of The African Touch.

I can completely agree with everything they have said, even though its been 2 years now, it sounds to be as brilliant as when we went.

We received very informative information before we left,all we needed to know. We were met at the airport by Karoma & everything from then on was taken care of. We had a rundown every evening of what to expect the next day & there was a print out in the bus for each day as well.

We had just turned 60 & were a little concerned about the whole camping thing, but it was magic.Perfect for Africa.The open bus was great for all our fab photos of the wildlife which we were able to get right up close to, & still feel so safe.

The tents & bedding very comfortable,safty & hygene faultless our food great. Nobody on the whole trip was sick & we all got on so well. So much so that we are about to have a 2nd reunion next month.
For value for money & a absolutly unforgettable experience I totally recomend THE AFRICAN TOUCH.

bvmoran26's picture
bvmoran26 09/26/2014

“East Africa Safari”

3 years ago

With some trepidation we embarked on this budget tour as we'd elected the camping option and travel was by truck! By the end of the tour we were in love with our tent and the truck and the crew - Chief Hunter: Koroma, Cook: Amos who...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
08/09/2014
Length of safari: 
29 Days
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Transport: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Nakura , Masai Mara, Ngorongoro Crater

With some trepidation we embarked on this budget tour as we'd elected the camping option and travel was by truck! By the end of the tour we were in love with our tent and the truck and the crew - Chief Hunter: Koroma, Cook: Amos who was ably assisted by Tony and Nikko. This tour was well paced, the variety of food, quality and quantity was excellent. The team couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We visited animal orphanages, Lake Victoria/source of the Nile, safari parks, a crater, an incredible mountain area in Tanzania, white sand beaches in Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar as well as getting opportunities to try the excellent Kenya coffee when in town (Tanzania coffee is pretty good too). The entire trip was well organised and in particular hygiene was first class and Karoma is a very capable and careful driver. A trip of a lifetime and a life changing attitude to any future travel.

falconer's picture
falconer 09/03/2014

“An Unforgettable Experience!”

3 years ago

We went on Safari with Karoma and his three helpers Amos, Tony, and Niko from 5th July to 1st August 2014 travelling through Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania.

Prior to making a final decision with our booking, we had spoken to...

Value: 
Service: 
Ecofriendliness: 
Recommended? 
Date of safari: 
07/05/2014
Length of safari: 
4 Weeks
Safari type: 
Safari destinations: 
Circumstances: 
Wildlife parks visited: 
Nakuru, Masai Mara, Crescent Island Game Reserve, Ngorongoro Crater

We went on Safari with Karoma and his three helpers Amos, Tony, and Niko from 5th July to 1st August 2014 travelling through Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania.

Prior to making a final decision with our booking, we had spoken to friends in our region who had been on previous trips with 'African Touch' and they all reported very favourably. As you will read below we were not disappointed!

Karoma's in depth knowledge of the region and his passion to share his country with others was very evident. We saw the 'Big Five' animals in the wild, and many 'must sees' such as the UNESCO World Heritage site - Ngorongoro Crater. At the same time we were privileged to be given a glimpse behind the scenes, something of the real Africa - mingling with the local people, visiting schools, and having a meal with Karoma's Mama in her remote village, to name but a few highlights.

The standard of meals provided was top notch. Great care was given to hygiene in preparation of meals and washing hands before eating - very worthwhile as nobody had their trip spoilt by tummy upsets and the like. The added attraction was that Amos is a trained chef so the food was healthy and delicious and the local fresh fruit fantastic.

From a cost aspect prior to booking we had compared this with other Safari companies and noticed African Touch was one of the cheapest. Thinking of the old adage "you get what you pay for" we were a bit wary. In practice we have very rarely received such good value for money. We were very impressed at the level of service and various extras, such as the flights to Zanzibar from the mainland and back, that were provided and included in the cost.

While both in our seventies we had no trouble keeping up with the tenting, walking, and all activities. We could not have been better looked after, and unreservedly recommend 'The African Touch' run by Karoma and his New Zealand wife Tasha to anyone interested in a great adventure.